Need Help?
General Anthropology
To find more recent volumes, search for anthropology encyclopedia as the keyword in the library catalog.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Call Number: GN11 .E63 2006
Archaeology
To find more recent archaeology encyclopedias, search for archeology encyclopedia or prehistoric encyclopedia as the keyword in the library catalog. Use the spelling 'archeology' to retrieve items spelled archaeology and archeology. There are many other encyclopedias available for particular regions, cultures, and periods.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Publication Date: 2008Also available in print, Woodruff Library Reference CC70 .E54 2008. 3 vols.
Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology by Publication Date: 2019
The Encyclopedia of Archaeological Sciences, 4 Volume Set by
An advanced resource on the emerging trends and foundational theories of archaeological science, offering students and scholars a reliable reference on the most current techniques and practices The Encyclopedia of Archaeological Sciences provides an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the scientific concepts and techniques that have shaped the contemporary discipline of archaeology. Sponsored by the Society for Archaeological Sciences, this is an essential resource on core topics in the integration of scientific methods into archaeological practice with extensive coverage on subjects of interdisciplinary interest, describing both the latest in technological and scientific developments as well as the foundational theoretical approaches that connect archaeology to broader topics in the social sciences and humanities. In a four-volume set comprised of over 480 entries as selected by leading researchers in the field, this encyclopedic reference work represents the contributions of scholars working all over the world, making this a truly international resource, suitable to support the work of archaeologists engaged with global questions on both the past and future of the discipline. Designed to provide detailed information on theoretical and applied topics, The Encyclopedia of Archaeological Sciences covers the foundations of archaeological science, modern field methods in archaeology, scientific techniques for the analysis of the characteristics and properties of materials, applications of mathematics and computer sciences, conservation studies, and theoretical approaches to the study of material culture and the applications of archaeological science. Working to support the integration of scientific methods and technologies into the standard practice and study of archaeology, The Encyclopedia of Archaeological Sciences is built upon the most important advances in recent scholarship and offers informed insight into the future of archaeology as a scientific discipline. This work is also available as an online resource: www.archaeologicalsciencesencyclopedia.com
Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Archaeology. History and Discoveries by Publication Date: 2001Also available in print, Woodruff Library Reference CC100 .E54 2001
Biological Anthropology
To find additional volumes, search for biological anthropology encyclopedia or handbook as the keyword in the library catalog. There are also reference texts and handbooks covering specific areas of research within biological anthropology so try searching those keywords as well.
Trends in Biological Anthropology, vols 1 and 2 by Publication Date: 2018
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Human Evolution by Call Number: GN281 .W534 2011Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by Publication Date: 2004Also available in print, Woodruff Library Reference RA418 .E354 2004.
Linguistic Anthropology
To find more recent volumes, search for linguistics encyclopedia or languages encyclopedia as the keyword in the library catalog.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Call Number: Woodruff Library Reference P29 .E48 2005Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of the World's Endangered Languages by Call Number: P40.5 .L332 E45 2007Publication Date: 2007
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages by Call Number: P140 .C35 2004Publication Date: 2004
Sociocultural Anthropology
To find more recent sociocultural anthropology encyclopedias, search for ethnology encyclopedia, culture encyclopedia, or ethnography encyclopedia as the keyword in the library catalog.
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology by Call Number: Woodruff Library Reference GN307 .E52 1996
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Publication Date: 2010
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures by Publication Date: 1996This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Also available in print, Woodruff Library Reference GN307 .E53 1991. 10 vols.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife by Call Number: Woodruff Library Reference GR35 .G75 2006Publication Date: 20064 vols.
Countries and Their Cultures by Publication Date: 2001Also available in print, Woodruff Library Reference GN307 .C68 2001. 4 vols.
