Research Guides: African Studies Research Guide: Primary Sources: Newspapers

African Newspapers

Newspapers

African newspapers and other news sources are important primary materials. Use African News Research Guide to identify what is available. Newpapers from colonial powers such as The Times (London) are also important sources. Many are available in microform or digital formats. Look for Emory's holdings in discoverE.

HINT: Historical newspapers are being digitized at a rapid pace. Keep checking titles in sources such as Worldcat to find digital versions.

African Newspapers: The British Library Collection This link opens in a new window
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection includes publications from Djibouti, Egypt, Mauritius and Saint Helena, as well as deep new coverage of Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and South Africa. Africa produced comparatively few newspapers in the 19th century, each page in this collection is significant, offering invaluable insight into the people, issues and events that shaped the continent. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements. obituaries and military reports, the newspapers in this one-of-a-kind collection chronicle African history and daily life as never before. Students and researchers will find news and analysis covering the European exploration of Africa, colonial exploitation, economics, Atlantic trade, the mapping of the continent, early moves towards self-governance, the growth of South Africa and much more.
World Newspaper Archive : African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Contains newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in various countries in Africa, including Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, and more.
ProQuest History This link opens in a new window
Contains 38 historical databases covering primary sources such as newspapers, magazines, government documents, first-hand accounts, and more.
SA Media This link opens in a new window
SA Media is a news research and press clipping service that retrospectively covers 40 mainstream publications in South Africa, from 1978 to present day. Also includes the archive and current content of the South African News Agency.