Currey Seminar

A finding aid is a tool created by an archivist that facilitates the discovery of information with a collection of records. Some institutions may call it a guide or an index, or even a calendar, but the purpose is all the same: to help researchers find the records they need.

• Institutional Information: Where is the material and how to I contact them?
• Descriptive Summary: Short summary or abstract of who created the records and what subjects they cover.
• Administrative information: Are there restrictions on these records? Where did they come from?
• Collection Description: In depth information on the creator, details of the records and how the archives has arranged the materials.
• Container list: A list of what is actually in each box and/or folder. 

• Date range: The span of dates for materials in the collection. May also include "bulk dates", or, the time period in which the majority of the collection falls.
• Extent: The physical size of the collection. In the U.S. this is commonly expressed in linear feet.
• Language: The language(s) of materials in the collection. For international figures, this may include many different languages and the materials may not be translated.
• Restrictions: Very important! Restriction notes will explain anything preventing you from having full access, like the fragility of the material or privacy or copyright concerns.
• Related Materials/Split Collections: An indication of other related material available in the institution, or the existence of another collection from the same creator held in another archives.
• Scope and Content: The topics and range of the materials. A collection of records from a specific person or organization may not reflect all the facets of their activities.