Journal Orientation 2025

ECGAR "strives to answer questions surrounding litigation, as well as address issues of financial risk management, labor law, products liability, environmental law, health law, and lawmaking." This broad focus means you will find yourself writing and spading in a wide variety of legal topics. For more information on checking whether your topic has been preempted, see the Preemption Checks page of this guide.

Legal news and current awareness tools are a good source for identifying developing areas of law ripe for new scholarship. 

Current Awareness

Legal Blogs

Circuit Splits

ECGAR "strives to answer questions surrounding litigation, as well as address issues of financial risk management, labor law, products liability, environmental law, health law, and lawmaking." Because of this, you will find yourself writing and spading in a wide variety of legal topics. 

Finding Guides by Subject:

You can limit your database search by title, subject, or most popular databases. Explore the available databases here:

• Emory Law Electronic Resources and Databases
• Emory Woodruff Library Databases

Finding Treatises:

• Westlaw Secondary Sources and Treatises by Topic
• Lexis Treatises and Practice Guides by Practice Area
• Bloomberg Law Books and Treatises by Practice Area
• Cheetah (Resources by practice area) 
• Treatises by topic (list from Georgia State University Law Library) 
• Georgetown Law Library Treatise Finder

Business and Corporate Databases:

• Bloomberg Law Corporate Law Practice Center: Legal analysis and practice tools
  • Corporate Governance: Practice tools and analysis, sample documents, and filings, among other resources.
• VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah): Resources in corporate and business law subject areas, including newsletters and treatises. Wolters Kluwer's VitalLaw provides an updated platform backed by Wolters Kluwer's legal content. Contains legal resources for business and finance, health law, and antitrust.
• Westlaw Practitioner Insights for Corporate Governance along with links to primary materials related to Securities practice.
• Lexis Practice Advisor for Capital Markets and Corporate Governance with links to news, analysis, practice notes and materials.
• Law360 - Corporate: For current awareness and news on the topic. Or search on Lexis .
• Getting the Deal Through: GTDT is a Q&A comparative series covering over 80 business and commercial practice areas with analysis from more than 150 international jurisdictions. Also available on Bloomberg Law in Reference Materials and on Lexis. 
• Practical Law on Westlaw: Q&A guides, practice notes, and updates on business and commercial practice areas, including global and cross-border guides.
• Business Source Complete: BSC is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to both peer-reviewed and popular business-related journals.
• ABI/Inform Complete: Access business and management journals and trade magazines from U.S. and international sources. Includes full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and popular business and economics periodicals.
• Conference Board: Business reports and analysis from a corporate think-tank. See the Environmental, Social, and Governance Center Newsletter for news and insights in the area of Corporate Governance and Sustainability. 

Corporate Governance law blogs include:

• The Harvard Corporate Governance Forum
• Corporate Governance Insights (Stanford University)
• The CLS Blue Sky Blog (Columbia Law School)
• Briefing: Governance (DavisPolk)
• Corporate Governance (blog)

In addition to the spading resources listed on the Spading page of this guide, resources specific to ECGAR include:

• EDGAR: SEC Filing database. For executive compensation information, search for proxy statements (DEF 14A), annual 10-K filings, and 8-K filings in particular.

For more information on citation help, see Citation Assistance page of this guide. 

Academic and Journal Writing:

• Research Strategy for Academic Writing
• Managing Writing Projects
• Find Articles at the Emory Libraries
• Accessing Emory Digital Resources
• Working Remotely Tips & Tricks
• Remote Collections Support and Access (Summer and Fall 2020 Phased Reopening)

Legal Research Skills:

• Administrative Law
• Caselaw and Citators
• Legislative History
• Secondary Sources​

Business Research

• Corporate Governance
• Business Research Guide

Multidisciplinary Research:

• American and Interdisciplinary Studies
• Anthropology
• Environmental Sciences
• Political Science
• Public Health

Emory Subject Guides

• Law Research Guides by Subject
• Woodruff Research Guides by Subject

Subject Guides Beyond Emory

• Georgetown Corporate Law Research Guide
• Duke Law Business Association Research Guide
• Harvard Law Corporate Law & Corporate Governance Research Guide

Faculty Research Question?
Please submit a Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please submit a Student Research Question form. 

Still have questions? 
Stop by our Reference Desk to chat with us in person.

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

          Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
          Saturday - Sunday: Closed 

MacMillan Library Building Hours (August 18, 2025 - November 2, 2025)*:

Monday - Thursday: 8am - 12am
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: 12pm - 12am
*Extended hours begin Monday, November 3, 2025.

Reference Desk (August 18, 2025 - December 11, 2025):
Monday: 10am - 4pm 
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm 
Wednesday: 10am - 1pm, 2:30pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 4pm 
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here. 
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis. 
Questions?  Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services