Finding Articles - ARTHIST 485 | AFS 489W What is a Map? - Research Guides at Emory University Libraries

Using Databases to Find Articles

Databases like JSTOR and Academic Search Complete provide citations and/or full text of journal articles, books, and other materials. Emory University Libraries enable access to the contents of more than 400 databases. See our Databases page for a complete listing. For help with searching databases, see our Finding Articles at Woodruff research guide.

Access from off-campus is available only to current Emory University students, faculty and staff, and requires an Emory Network ID and password.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
JSTOR
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Geography
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of geography. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
The Brill Dictionary of Religion Online
Reference for the different theologies and doctrines of official institutionalized religions and other religious phenomena.
It helps to map out and define the networks and connections created by various religions in contemporary societies, and provides models for understanding these complex phenomena.
PolicyMap (Policy Map)
An easy to use mapping tool that does not require GIS skills. Allows users to create maps, reports, and analyses and to plot additional data by geographical location. Current datasets about the United States include the census, financial, quality of life, crime, environmental, housing, health and much more.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes journals published in the fields of architecture, architectural history and design, archaeology, design, and more.
ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals, essays, and book reviews in the areas of religion and theology.
Political Science Complete
Contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). This is the major index for political science.