Library Website - Pathway to Resources!
The Oxford College Library Website is your pathway to thousands of resources the Emory University Libraries have to offer. Start by looking below at the information below. Once you feel familiar with the information, go to our website, dive in and start experimenting with the resources.
Getting Started - Be Sure to Click All Four Tabs
Searching the Library
To get started exploring the Library's resources use the search bar located at the top of the page.
You can use this to can look for resources in the following places:
1. Library Search is the name of Emory's library catalog. Use this to start finding books, (though it does do more than that.) See the next tab for more info. :)
2. Databases: Search for articles in our databases
3. Ejournals: Search for a specific journal, newspaper, or magazine. If we have it, this tool will tell you where and give you a link to find it. Great for looking up citations!
4. Articles+: Search for articles, images, conference proceedings, audio-visual materials, books, and dissertations.
Additional Resources
Additional resources can be found by scrolling down to the Research Tools and Student Support Sections on our Homepage.
You can access the following resources through these tiles:
1. eBooks, Films, Games: Go to this page to learn how to access OverDrive, our external ebook vendor for non-textbook titles (more like leisure reading). Also see a list of the streaming film sites Emory subscribes to.
2. Research Subject Guides: See which specific databases/books and other resources librarians recommend for your subject
3. Course Reserves: If your professor has placed an electronic reserve (e-reserve) online for your course, or if a book or other physical item is on reserve behind the library desk, you can search for it here.
4. ILL/Interlibrary Loan: Order books or articles from other libraries outside of the Emory system (this is a free service). See the "Getting Books" tab on the left for more details.
5. Schedule Research Help: Set up a time for one-on-one help with a librarian
6. Online Newspaper Digital Access: Click on this tab to set up your free New York Times or Wall Street Journal access
What is Library Search?
Library Search is the library catalog. It searches across a wide variety of resources, including our physical items, electronic resources and many of our databases. Library Search serves as the library catalog for all of the Emory libraries and is the primary way to look for books, eBooks, music, videos, and other items.
Library Search is a great place to start looking for books or videos on a topic, but for powerful, targeted searches that use subject headings or a controlled vocabulary, try a database specific to your discipline or topic.
ALWAYS SIGN IN! Signing in gives you more complete results, the ability to request items, and the best access to available online resources.
Getting Started with Library Search:
First when using Library Search sign in at the top of the page! Use your net ID (jdoe) and password. In the search bar you can type in your keywords to search, but you can switch the dropdown to search by title, author or subject.
You can filter your results before searching, but more filters are available on the results page, as can be seen below. To access an item from the results page, use the Connect button for online resources or Locate button for physical resources. Both will take you to page where you can access or request the item.
It is important to remember Library Search can only be used to find books, eBooks, music, videos, and other items. To search for Articles you will need to search in Articles+ or in one of our databases. You can find additional help using Library Search here.
Research guides are librarian-created guides for the best places to go to research your subject. It's a great place to find out what databases are most useful! The Link below opens a list of guides. Subject guides provide a collection of resources for that discipline. The librarian who created the guide is also an excellent resource.
This is what a subject guide looks like:
There are many ways to get in touch with us from our Home Page.
Chat with Us is chat service is available live Mon-Thur 8am-10pm, Fri 8am-5pm, Sat 8am-4pm, Sun 11am-10pm. You can also text a question to (770) 415-8963.
Find out More is a great way ask a lengthier question or request to the library staff, and also provides you an email to reach the library staff directly.
Scheduling a Research Consultation
You can also book an appointment with a librarian for in-depth one-on-one help. A librarian will meet with you via Zoom video conference with screen-sharing capability or in person.
You can do this on the find out more page or through the Book Research Appointment tile under Student Resources on the library homepage.
