Skip to Main Content
Emory University Emory Libraries

Library Search User Guide

A user guide for searching the Emory Libraries Catalog

Basic Search

Use Library Search when looking for items held by Emory University Libraries. Library Search holds books, ebooks, journals, films, newspapers, and more. Users can also run empty or blank searchers to browse the catalog. You can access Library Search from the main library website or at search.libraries.emory.edu.

To search Library Search, simply type keywords into the search bar.

 

Get even more specific search results by selecting title, author/creator, or subject in the dropdown menu next to the search bar.

You can also search specific titles and phrases by putting them in quotation marks.

 

Most search engines rely on a specific set of commands to understand your search. Use Boolean Operators to combine or limit your search. Boolean operators must be typed in ALL CAPS.

AND will narrow your results by looking for items that contain ALL of your search terms. AND is usually implied when searching multiple keywords.
OR will connect synonyms, broaden your results, and find ANY of the terms in your search. In this case, all items with any combination of the keywords or just one keyword will be included in your search results.
NOT will EXCLUDE items from your search. This is helpful for narrowing your search and ignoring irrelevant combinations of words that appear in your result.

Use an asterisk (*) to shorten a word to search multiple stems: engin*

You'll get search results such as: engine, engines, engineering, engineer.

Use a question mark (?) to replace a letter in order to broaden terms: wom?n

You'll get search results such as: women, woman, and womyn.

You can also group your results by placing phrases in parenthesis: savanna AND (Georgia OR Southeast).

Limit your results by phrase or spelling when using quotations "Oxford University" vs. "Oxford College."

Find more search tips and commands in the Advanced Search feature.

Filter results by various qualities like holding library, language, publication date, and author/creator.

Filter results by various qualities like holding library, language, publication date, and author/creator.

 

Using Advanced Search

Select "Advanced Search."

 

In Advanced Search, you can widen the scope of your search to include more specific parameters, including series titles, publisher, ISBN numbers, and local call numbers. Complete your search by hitting the enter or return key.

 

Additionally, you can choose specific search attributes such as language and publication date. 

eJournals, Databases, and Articles+

To expand your search beyond the library catalog, you can easily access three additional search engines from Library Search. These search engines are eJournals, Articles+, and the Databases. Search results viewed in these three resources may not always show up in Library Search results, so it is important to consider incorporating them into your overall search strategy.

eJournals allows you search for specific journal titles. You can search for journals by title, keyword, or alphabetically by title. You cannot search for specific article titles in eJournals search.

*Note that eJournals will limit your search to journals that Emory holds electronic subscriptions for.

 

Articles+ will take you to a new engine that searches electronic articles, books, and chapter titles across many resources. Access to most of these resources is limited to currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff of Emory University.

Limit your search results using the filters on the left.

Databases@Emory will take you to links for discipline-specific resources that Emory subscribes too. These resources may not always show up in catalog results.

Use the Subjects field to limit search results to a specific discipline (i.e., English, Health Sciences, etc.).

You can also find popular and general databases in the right-hand column. 

Movies, Music, and Popular Reading

You can use Library Search to find DVDs, Blu-rays, and online videos.

1. DVDs/Blu-rays:

When searching for DVDs or Blu-rays in Library Search, you can use the filters on the left hand side of the Library Search main page to help locate your chosen resource. Filtering the access type to "At the Library" and the resource type to "Video or Visual Material" will help you to start your search successfully.

If known, you can enter your chosen title into the main library search box.

Additionally, you can use keywords to find media on a particular subject. TIP: After running your initial search, try using more of the filters - such as genre, subject, collection etc. - to further refine.

2. Online (streaming) video:

When searching for online video in Library Search, filtering the access type to "Online" and the resource type to "Video or Visual Material" will help you to start your search successfully.

Again, you can enter your chosen title or author into the main library search box or you can use keywords to find media on a particular subject.  Again - after running your initial search, try using more of the filters - such as genre, subject, collection etc. - to further refine.

Once you have found a title you like the look of, click on the "connect" button. You will then be taken to a page showing you information about how to access your chosen material.

You can use Library Search to find CDs, LPs, music scores, and online sound recordings. You can use the filters on the left hand side of the Library Search main page to help locate your chosen resource.

Once you have typed a title or keyword into the Library Search box, you will have access to more filters which can help you to focus your search.

1. CDs and LPs (Vinyl):

  1. The best ways to search for CDs and vinyl is to go to "Advanced Search" and then type in the Local Call Number box "DISC" for vinyl and "CD" for compact disc.

You can then use other filters such as author/creator, collection, era, genre etc. to help refine your search.

2. Music Scores:

When searching for music scores in Library Search, filtering the  resource type to "Musical Score" will help you to start your search successfully. Physical and online scores are both available. Use the access filter to find what is right for your needs. You can search for specific titles or you can use keywords. For example, you can use "soprano" as a keyword and filter by "online access," "English language," and "vocal score."

3. Online (Streaming) Music:

When searching for online music in Library Search, filtering the access type to "Online" and the resource type to "Sound recording" will help you to start your search successfully.

 

Several libraries house a McNaughton popular reading collection, which offers a selection of recent fiction and nonfiction titles available for check-out.

To find these titles, select Advanced Search in Library Search, and type McNaughton in the Local Call Number field.

Like all searches in the catalog, you can bookmark the results or copy and paste the link to keep this keep this search of McNaughton titles on hand for later.  

For additional ideas and sources for recreational reading in Emory’s collections check out: