Research Guides: HIST 489WR Indigenous Peoples and Empire in Latin America.: Emory Print / Digital Primary Sources

Finding Print Primary Sources at Emory

Woodruff Library Bibliography of Translated Primary Sources

Use Library Search to find published primary sources in Emory's libraries, including:

Published books that contain primary source documents
U.S. government documents
Primary source collections in microfilm or microfiche format

Look for works by individuals, associations, or other groups directly involved with the topic you are researching by searching for their names as AUTHORS.

Try adding one or more of the following search terms to your search:

autobiographies	diaries
autobiography	personal narratives
biography	sources
captivity narratives	speeches
correspondence	pamphlets

Finding Primary Sources: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Portals for Primary Sources (LOGIN REQUIRED)

Don't know where to start? Try one of the following database portals. They allow researchers to search across multiple databases produced by the same publisher or archives.

Archive Explorer (Adam Matthew)
Access primary sources for a wide variety of themes and topics. Materials concentrate on English language archival documents from the UK and the U.S.
Gale Primary Sources
Search a large number of primary source databases.

Emory Digital Primary Sources (LOGIN REQUIRED)

Archivo Histórico del Arzobispado de México
The Archivo Histórico del Arzobispado de México contains documentation generated by the activities in the central Mexican bishopric and subsequent archbishopric gave form to the archive. Today the colonial section of the archive houses 9550 documents and 319 books related to the administration of the archdiocese.
more...less...
.
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library (Parts I and II)
Access material from the Oliveira Lima Library on Brazilian and Portuguese history. Over 90 percent of the material is in Portuguese.
Caribbean History and Culture, Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia (1535-1920)
Access documents related to the history of the Caribbean Islands, including books, pamphlets, almanacs, and more. This collection is a subset of Afro-Americana Imprints.
Empire Online
Access primary documents relating to Empire Studies. The images are sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including the British Library.
Gale World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean Archive
Access primary source documents about Latin American and the Caribbean. Includes academic journals, newsfeeds, maps, video, and more.
Making of the Modern World
Access a variety of documents related to the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays, and more.
Sabin Americana
Collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the 1500s to the early 1900s. Focuses on original accounts of discovery and exploration, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, and more.