Research Guides: Georgia Civil Rights Cold Cases: Articles

Types of Databases

The Emory Libraries have a large number of databases that can help you with your research. You can search in two different types of databases.

Multidisciplinary databases - Include both popular and scholarly sources on a wide range of topics. Consider trying the multidisciplinary database Academic Search Complete as a place to get started with a research project.
Subject-specific databases - Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline. See the Databases @ Emory list to get a sense of what subject-specific databases are available to you.

We also have databases that can help you locate sources like videos, images, data sets, data visualizations, primary sources, newspapers, interviews, etc.

Google Scholar is also a great place to search for articles. Use these directions to ensure that you can both find and access material from Google Scholar at the Emory Libraries.

Pro-tip: always scour through the bibliographies of the articles you're reading that relate to your research area/topic. Often you'll find that someone else has done the legwork of compiling articles/books directly relevant to your research interest!

Multidisciplinary Scholarly Article Databases

To find scholarly articles on the voting rights act and voting more broadly, start by searching one of the multi-disciplinary or subject-specific databases below. For a comprehensive list of databases at Emory go to Emory's A-Z Database List.

Multi-disciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, edited books, and essays in anthropology, archeology, and related interdisciplinary research.

Subject Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.

Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (A&I) This link opens in a new window
Often dissertations and theses from the period contain interesting local information. Many can be searched and are available in full text.