Research Guides: Georgia Civil Rights Cold Cases: Historic Newspapers

Finding Georgia Newspapers

The University of Georgia maintains a list of microfilmed, and select digitized, newspapers from Georgia.

Digital Library of Georgia
Access materials related to the history and culture of the state of Georgia. Includes digitized books, newspapers, images, manuscripts, and more.

ProQuest History
Contains 38 historical databases covering primary sources such as newspapers, magazines, government documents, first-hand accounts, and more.
NewspaperArchive
Provides current information and daily feeds from a wide variety of U.S. and international newspapers.
Newspapers.com
Contains local and regional historical newspapers from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom and Ireland, Australia and other select countries.
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956
Contains African American newspapers published in the United States from 1835-1956. Complements the database African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998.
Chronicling America
Contains a variety of historical newspapers dating from 1900 to 1963.
America's Historical Newspapers
Search the Orleans Times-Picayune, Augusta Chronicle, and local African American Newspapers.
Formerly Early American Newspapers Digital.
NewsBank Access World News
Coverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.
All titles are the full electronic version of record.

OpinionArchives
Provides access to current issues and backfiles of a number of leading U.S. opinion publications including the Nation, New Republic, Commonweal, the New York Review of Books, Harper's, and more.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive
Access consumer magazines in the fields of news, policy, and politics. Titles include Newsweek, the UN Chronicle, the UNESCO Courier, and more.

Atlanta Journal-Constitution - Newsbank, historical and current
The Atlanta Journal Historical Archive is a full-text searchable database of the Atlanta Journal newspaper. The paper merged with the Atlanta Constitution in 2001 and was subsequently published under the Atlanta Journal Constitution banner.
Atlanta Constitution Historical
The Atlanta Constitution Historical Archive is a full-text searchable database of the Atlanta Constitution newspaper. The paper merged with the Atlanta Journal and was subsequently published under Atlanta Journal Constitution banner.
Atlanta Daily World (1932-)
The Atlanta Daily World Archive is a full-text searchable database of the newspaper. Coverage starts in 1932.
Digital Library of Georgia
Database of materials related to the history and culture of the state of Georgia. Includes newspapers from the state.

Atlanta Independent
African American newspaper published in Atlanta from 1903 to 1928. To search the archive use this search string: site:news.google.com/newspapers atlanta 1906.
Atlanta Georgian
Georgia Newspaper Project newspaper from 1906-1907.