Art History Subject Guide

Includes magazine and journal articles, book reviews and conference proceedings, podcasts and more regarding fine arts, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.

Indexes journals published in the fields of architecture, architectural history and design, archaeology, design, and more.

Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.

Contains abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, exhibition reviews, and more. Prominent themes include painting, printmaking, sculpture, drawing, computer and electronic art, and more.

Access fine and decorative art price database archives from over 500 international auction houses.

Curated collections of digital images and associated data for non-commercial, scholarly, non-profit, and educational use. Over 1 million images.

Access records describing the literature of art, including books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and journal articles.

Indexes of journals, monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogues. Focuses on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.

Contains access to the following: Archaeological Bibliography, The Subject Catalogue of the Roman-Germanic Commission, Attic Gravestones of the late 5th and the 4th Century B.C., Census of Antique Art and Architecture Known to the Renaissance, Corpus der antiken Denkmäler, die J. J. Winckelmann und seine Zeit kannten, Bibliography of Eurpean Prehistory, Monographs, Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts.

Indexes books, journals, collected essays, and book reviews related to Greek, Roman, Cretan-Mycenean, Etruscan, Egyptian, and early Christian and Byzantine history, art, culture, and religion.

Kubikat is the collective catalogue of four of the leading German scholarly research institutes in the field of art history: Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florence, Max-Planck-Institut; Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte in Munich, Deutsches Forum für Kunstgeschichte, and the Bibliotheca Hertziana, Max Planck-Institut für Kunstgeschichte in Rome. Includes references to articles in scholarly periodicals, conference papers, exhibition catalogues, and more.

Contains citations for Greek and Roman studies focusing on the period from 2000 BC to 800 CE. Covers classical languages, literatures, history, philosophy, art, and more

Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.

The A&AePortal provides an digital environment in which to discover and interact with important art and architectural history scholarship. The database includes both books that are difficult to access in print and new releases and born-digital publications (i.e.,digital only) made available as eBooks exclusively on the A&AePortal

Contains references for Egyptological literature. Includes the records and abstracts from the Annual Egyptological Bibliography, and the Bibliographie Altagypten that cover from 1822 to the present.

Access a wide-variety of art resources across Oxford’s art reference works. Includes articles, visual arts, digital images, biographies, bibliographies, encyclopedias, and more.

Guide to scholarly literature in the field of Art History. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.