Research Guides: Art History Subject Guide : Reference Materials

General Reference

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access a wide-variety of art resources across Oxford’s art reference works. Includes articles, visual arts, digital images, biographies, bibliographies, encyclopedias, and more.
Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new window
Contains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Art History This link opens in a new window
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of Art History. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Renaissance and Reformation This link opens in a new window
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of Renaissance and Reformation. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Electronic editions of the Oxford Handbooks for political science and philosophy.

Handbooks, Guildes & Companions

Cambridge Companions: Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.

Oxford Handbooks Online: The Oxford Handbook Series brings together review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.

Dictionaries

Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart (1907-1950) 32 volumes

Edited by Dr. UlrichThieme und Becker.
Reference N 40 .T4 v.1-32

Register zum Allgemeinen Lexikon der bildenden Künstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart und zum Allgemeinen Lexikon der bildenden Künstler des XX. Jahrhunderts

Thieme-Becker/Vollmer Gesamtregister

Reference N40 .V6 v.1-6

A continuation of Ulrich Thieme's "Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart.

Dictionary of artists / translation of Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs et graveurs de tous les temps et de tous les pays/ edited by Emmanuel Benezit.

Reference N40 .B46 2006 V.1-14

Dictionary of International Contemporary Artists
Reference N6490 .D5 1995

The Dictionary of Art 34 volumes

Reference N31 .D5 1996 v.1-34 Grove Art Online is part of Oxford Art Online

Who's Who in American Art
Reference N6536 .W5 2005/2006 Annual 1936/37 - past year in Stacks

Who Was Who in American Art 1564-1975 : 400 years of Artists in America
Reference N6536 .W56 1999

Biography

American National Biography A premier source of biographical information on over 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. The ANB covers deceased individuals whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.

Biography in Context A database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Biography Reference Bank Similar to Biography in Context, the Biography Reference Bank aggregates full-text from a variety of different sources.