Research Guides: Allied Health Students' Resources: Anesthesiologist Assistant

Resources within AccessAnesthesiology

AccessAnesthesiology is a resource specifically for professionals in anesthesiology. It houses ebooks, procedural videos, guidelines and much more.

Here are just a few of the 40 eBooks available on AccessAnesthesiology:

Anesthesiology, Third Edition by Sean Mackey; David E. Longnecker; Mark F. Newman; Warren M. Zapol; Warren Sandberg Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,  authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The gold-standard text in anesthesiology - from the field's brightest, most respected minds Written by an internationally known team of experts, Anesthesiology, Third Edition provides a 360-degree view of the field, covering all the anesthetic considerations from preoperative preparation through postoperative care, and the full breadth of anesthesia practice, including pain medicine and critical care medicine.  Presented in full color and updated to capture the latest breakthroughs and advances,  Anesthesiology  is designed to provide the practitioner with an authoritative single-source reference that spans the full spectrum of anesthesia practice. Much more than a how-to manual of anesthetic techniques, Anesthesiology, Third Edition presents an accessible compilation of concepts and principles that affirms its status as the cornerstone text in anesthesiology. This edition emphasizes important trends in both the specialty and healthcare in general. These trends include team-based anesthesia care, the remarkable growth of pain medicine practice, and the expanded need for clinicians who are skilled in the practice of critical care medicine. Features: * Four new pain medicine chapters, plus an expanded section on anesthetic considerations and perioperative management of co-existing disease * Key Points and Key References encapsulate must-know information and guide you to important articles for further research * Balanced presentations present clinical information, practical clinical procedures, and the molecular and scientific foundations of anesthesia practice * Essential for residents and students preparing for initial certification, and for practitioners preparing for recertification    
ISBN: 9780071848817
Publication Date: 2017-08-28
Anesthesiology Core Review by Brian Freeman; Jeffrey Berger Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A rigorous, high-yield review for the new ABA Part 1: BASIC Examination The year 2014 marks the beginning of a new phase in board certification for anesthesiology residents in the United States. The Part 1 exam is now split into two written examinations: Basic and Advanced. Residents who are unable to pass the Basic examination will not be allowed to finish their training. That's why this book is a true must read for every anesthesiology resident. It is the single best way to take the stress out of this make-or-break exam, focus your study on nearly 200 must-know topics found on the board exam outline, and identify your areas of strength and weakness. Written by program directors with many years of board examination advising experience, Anesthesiology Core Review Part One: BASIC Exam is designed to be the cornerstone of your study preparation. Each chapter of Anesthesiology Core Review succinctly summarizes key concepts in basic science and clinical anesthesia practice. Space is conveniently provided throughout the book to add notes from other study resources. Anesthesiology Core Review Part One: BASIC Exam is logical divided into four sections: Basic Science Clinical Sciences Organ-Based Sciences Special Issues in Anesthesiology (covering important topics such as professionalism and licensure, ethics, and patient safety) With its expert authorship and concise yet thorough coverage, Anesthesiology Core Review Part One: BASIC Exam is biggest step you can take to assure effective preparation for the new ABA BASIC Examination.
ISBN: 9780071821377
Publication Date: 2014-06-06
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam by Brian Freeman; Jeffrey Berger Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,  authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The best way to prepare for the American Board of Anesthesiology's new ADVANCED Examination Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two-ADVANCED Exam prepares you for the second of two new staged anesthesiology board certification exams. This is the first board review book tailored for the new ADVANCED examination.The book is divided into sections that match the blueprint provided by the American Board of Anesthesiology: Basic Science, Clinical Sciences, Organ-Based Sciences,Clinical Subspecialties, and Special Problems or Issues in Anesthesiology. Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two-ADVANCED Exam is the single best way to take the stress out of this make-or-break exam. Short 2-4 page chapters provide critical information in an easily digestible and memorable format. Each chapter succinctly summarizes key concepts, covering the nearly 200 must-know topics found on the board exam outline. The pages are heavily illustrated to help you visualize key concepts, with space conveniently provided throughout the book to add notes from other study resources. Together with the first volume (Anesthesiology Core Review Part One-BASIC), this book provides an excellent, comprehensive resource for initial board certification.
ISBN: 9781259641770
Publication Date: 2016-05-17
Clinical Physiology in Anesthetic Practice by Michael G. Levitzky A clinically relevant, reader -friendly text covering everything the anesthesia provider must know about physiology This well-illustrated new resource is the most concise and high-yield presentation of physiology topics available to the anesthesia provider. The authors (who are both educators and clinicians)  deliver a complete overview of physiology, but, since this book is written for the anesthesia provider, the bulk of the text is dedicated to cardiovascular and respiratory physiology. Clinical Physiology in Anesthetic Practice distinguishes itself from general medical physiology books by the inclusion of case studies and clinical correlation boxed inserts that emphasize key fact that relate to real-world practice.  *Numerous case studies demonstrate the clinical relevance of basic science *The author are experienced educators and clinicians, and know how to present difficult concepts in the most interesting and reader-friendly manner possible *Key Points summarize must-know information, providing an excellent framework for board review
ISBN: 9781259641954
Publication Date: 2020-12-07
Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation, Fourth Edition by Dean R. Hess; Robert M. Kacmarek Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The acclaimed application-based guide to adult mechanical ventilation --- updated to reflect the latest topics and practice guidelines A Doody's Core Title for 2019!  This practical guide is written from the perspective of authors who have nearly 100 years' experience as clinicians, educators, researchers, and authors. Unlike other references on the topic, this resource is about mechanical ventilation rather than mechanical ventilators. It is written to provide a solid understanding of the general principles and essential foundational knowledge of mechanical ventilation as required by respiratory therapists and critical care physicians.  To make it clinically relevant, Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation includes disease-specific chapters related to mechanical ventilation in these conditions.  The Fourth Edition has been carefully updated throughout. New content includes coverage of mechanical ventilation of the obese patient and advanced monitoring procedures. Concepts such as driving pressure are included, and the content has been checked against the most recently published clinical practice guidelines. Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation, Fourth Edition is divided into four parts: Part One, Principles of Mechanical Ventilation describes basic principles of mechanical ventilation and then continues with issues such as indications for mechanical ventilation, appropriate physiologic goals, and ventilator liberation.   Part Two, Ventilator Management, gives practical advice for ventilating patients with a variety of diseases.  Part Three, Monitoring During Mechanical Ventilation, discusses blood gases, hemodynamics, mechanics, and waveforms.  Part Four, Topics in Mechanical Ventilation, covers issues such as airway management, aerosol delivery, and extracorporeal life support.
ISBN: 9781260026092
Publication Date: 2018-11-02
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 6th Edition by John F. Butterworth; David C. Mackey; John D. Wasnick Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,  authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most engagingly written, clinically relevant overview of the practice of anesthesiology IN FULL COLOR! A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Hailed as the best primer on the topic, Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology has remained true to its stated goal: "to provide a concise, consistent presentation of the basic principles essential to the modern practice of anesthesia."  This trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. At the same time it has retained its value for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher.   This Sixth Edition has been extensively revised to reflect a greater emphasis on critical care medicine, enhanced recovery, and ultrasound in anesthesia practice.  Key features that make it easier to understand complex topics: * Rich full-color art work combined with a modern, user-friendly design make information easy to find and remember * Case discussions promote application of concepts in real-world clinical practice * Boxed Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter identify important issues and facts that underlie the specialty  * Numerous tables and figures encapsulate important information and facilitate recall * Up-to-date discussion of all relevant areas of anesthesiology, including equipment and monitors, pharmacology,      pathophysiology, regional anesthesia, pain management, and critical care * URLs for societies, guidelines, and practice advisories 
ISBN: 9781259834424
Publication Date: 2018-08-21