Research Guides: Allied Health Students' Resources: Physician Assistant

Highlighted Resources for Patient Care

Bates' Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley Access physical assessment techniques in a flash--anytime, anywhere! This concise and trusted reference provides authoritative guidance on how to perform the patient interview, physical examination, and other core assessments as well as how to apply clinical reasoning and use shared decision-making in a quick-reference format--all based on a firm understanding of clinical evidence. Bates' Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking includes illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination in an easy-to-follow two-column format featuring examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. This highly regarded pocket guide also covers special stages in the life cycle--infancy through adolescence, pregnancy, and aging. New to the eighth edition: Text boxes help readers quickly find important summaries of clinical conditions and other relevant information. Many new and updated photographs and illustrations support the text, and figures are now numbered for easy identification and reference. Rewritten chapter on evaluating clinical evidence clarifies key concepts to ensure student understanding. Revised and expanded chapter on the skin, hair, and nails includes new dermatology photographs and provides the framework for assessing common lesions and abnormalities. Updated behavior and mental status chapter now references DSM-5 . Significantly revised information on obesity and nutrition counseling; cardiovascular risk factor screening and new clinical guidelines; new screening guidelines for breast cancer, colon cancer, Papanicolau smears, and stroke risk factors; current information on STIs; new geriatric assessment tools; and much more provide essential clinical updates. New life-cycle content includes an increased emphasis on cardiovascular health promotion and child development; updated pregnancy topics such as weight gain, substance abuse, and intimate partner violence; and new information on the older adult, including frailty, immunizations, cancer screening, cognitive decline and dementia screening, and a new algorithm for falls prevention.
ISBN: 9781496338488
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide 2012 by John G. Bartlett; Paul G. Auwaerter; Paul A. Pham Jones & Bartlett Learning is the Official Print and Mobile Provider of the Johns Hopkins POC-IT Center ABX Guide.Thoroughly revised and updated for 2012, the Johns Hopkins ABX Guide, Third Edition continues to provide current, authoritative and comprehensive information on anti-microbial agents, infectious disease and commonly encountered pathogens, in one portable volume.Written by experts at the world-renowned Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, this must-have resource features expert recommendations, clinical and diagnostic decision-making tools, and drug-to-drug interactions. Concise, thorough, and current, The Johns Hopkins ABX Guide, Second Edition is designed for quick reference and comprehension. Information is featured in an easy-to-access format that facilitates rapid application of knowledge at the point of care.
ISBN: 9781449625580

DynaMed: Point of Care too for the "bedside" - provides summarized evidence on medical topics

Rosen and Barkin's 5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult by Jeffrey J. Schaider (Editor); Peter Rosen (Editor); Roger M. Barkin (Editor); Stephen R. Hayden (Editor); Philip Shayne (Editor); Richard E. Wolfe (Editor); Adam Z. Barkin (Editor) This emergency department reference has now been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest improvements in patient care. It provides practical information on over 600 clinical problems in a fast-access two-page outline format that's useful for on-the-spot consultation.
ISBN: 9781608316304

Additional Clinical Resources

Key Mobile Apps

Mobile Apps can be found on the Mobile Resources page.

PA Journals

Here are some key Physician Assistant journals to which Emory subscribes online:

You can locate additional journals by searching the University Libraries' catalog, discoverE.