Medical Education & Technologies Informationist
Mia S. White
Contact:
Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library
1462 Clifton Rd, NE
Atlanta, GA 30322
1462 Clifton Rd, NE
Atlanta, GA 30322
404-727-0286
Website
Ask a Librarian!
Email us at
http://health.library.emory.edu/ask-librarian
Check your spam folder if you don't receive a reply.
Introduction
This guide highlights some key resources for rehabilitation medicine, some specific to rehabilitation medicine and physical therapy. If you need any assistance with a resource or need help with a literature search, please contact Mia S. White at: mia.s.white@emory.edu.
Rehabilitation Medicine Specific Resources
AccessPhysiotherapy: is a resources that provides information and multimedia resources on the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy. Provides access to videos, self-learning, and leading physical therapy eBooks.One particular component of note is the Anatomy and Physiology Revealed. Anatomy and Physiology revealed provides an "interactive cadaver dissection experience." You can view various layers of the human body all the way down to the skeleton, view 3D models of various parts of the body, watch videos related to the areas of study, look at histology associated with the body section and more.
The F.A. Davis PT Collection: serves as a complementary companion to AccessPhysiotherapy. It provides additional eBooks, and resources only available on this resource.
Anatomy, H&P, & Videos
- Physical Exams (Multimedia): Neurology, Ophthalmology, Orthopedics
- Patient Interview (Multimedia): Interview techniques
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
eBooks
Below are some of the eBooks found on AccessPhysiotherapy and in the F.A. Davis PT Collection, unless indicated.
5-Min Clinical Consult Premium 2020 (uCentral) by
Practical and highly organized, The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2020 is a reliable, go-to resource for clinicians in primary care, family medicine, emergency medicine, nursing, and pediatrics. This bestselling title provides rapid access to guidance on diagnosis, treatment, medications, follow-up, and associated factors for more than 540 diseases and conditions. The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2020 delivers maximum clinical confidence as efficiently as possible ... allowing you to focus your valuable time on giving your patients the best possible care. Get quick access to all-new content , including Internet Gaming Disorder, and a new algorithm for Tinnitus. Find the answers you need quickly thanks to an intuitive, at-a-glance format, with concise, bulleted text; hundreds of diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms; ICD-10 codes, DSM-5 criteria; and much more. Make confident decisions aided by current evidence-based designations in each topic. Access valuable clinical guidance in the book as well as 24/7 online access for one year! Written by esteemed internal medicine and family medicine practitioners and published by the leading publisher in medical content, The 5-Minute Clinical Consult Premium 2020: 1-Year Enhanced Online Access + Print, 28th Edition includes 1-year access to 5MinuteConsult.com. 5MinuteConsult.com is an evidence-based, online workflow tool easily integrated at the point of care. 5MinuteConsult.com provides online-exclusive content, including: All-new topics, including Sports Medicine topics as they apply to Primary Care, Cannabinoid Hyperemesis Syndrome, Cholesteatoma, Rumination Syndrome, and Tinea Incognito. More than 1,500 additional topics, including the full contents of The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult and Rosen & Barkin's 5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult Differential diagnosis support from an expanded collection of algorithms Current evidence-based designations highlighted in each topic Thousands of images to help support visual diagnosis of all conditions A video library of procedures, treatment, and physical therapy techniques An A-to-Z Drug Database from Facts & Comparisons® Guidance on laboratory test interpretation from Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests More than 3,000 patient handouts in English and Spanish Approximately 100 Diseases and Conditions in Spanish ICD-10 codes and DSM-5 criteria FREE point-of-care CME and CE: 0.5 credits each time you search the site to find the best treatment for your patients. This activity has been reviewed and is acceptable for up to 20 prescribed credits by the AAFP and the ANCC. The 5-Minute Clinical Consult Premium 2020, 28th Edition provides the luxury of a traditional print product and delivers quick access to the continually updated online content - an ideal resource when you're treating patients.
ISBN: 1451148127Publication Date: 2019-05-03
Dutton's Orthopaedic Examination Evaluation and Intervention by
A Doody's Core Title for 2015. A complete evidence-based textbook and reference for physical therapy students and practitioners Dutton's Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention provides you with a systematic, logical approach to the evaluation and intervention of the orthopedic patient. Comprehensive and up-to-date, Dutton's strikes the perfect balance in its coverage of examination and treatment. For any intervention to be successful, an accurate diagnosis must be followed by a carefully planned and specific rehabilitation program to both the affected area and its related structure. This approach must take into consideration the structure involved and the stage of healing. Dutton's Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention emphasizes the appropriate use of manual techniques and therapeutic exercise based on these considerations. The correct applications of electrotherapeutic and thermal modalities are outlined throughout as adjuncts to the rehabilitative process. The content reflects the consistent, unified voice of a single author - a prominent practicing therapist who delivers step-by-step guidance on the examination of each joint and region. This in-depth coverage leads you logically through systems review and differential diagnosis, aided by decision-making algorithms. Features: NEW full-color illustrations of anatomy and treatment and evaluation procedures Review Q&A for each chapter Companion DVD includes 500 illustrative video clips Chapters updated to reflect the latest research and treatment techniques
ISBN: 9780071744041Publication Date: 2012-05-04
Exercise Physiology: Theory and Application to Fitness and Performance by
Exercise Physiology: Theory and Application to Fitness and Performance is designed for students interested in exercise physiology, clinical exercise physiology, human performance, kinesiology/exercise science, physical therapy, and physical education. The tenth edition provides students with an up-to-date understanding of the physiology of exercise through the use of numerous clinical applications, including exercise tests to evaluate cardiorespiratory fitness and information on exercise training for improvements in health-related physical fitness and sports performance .The Connect course for this offering includes SmartBook, an adaptive reading and study experience which guides students to master, recall, and apply key concepts while providing automatically-graded assessments. McGraw-Hill Connect® is a subscription-based learning service accessible online through your personal computer or tablet. Choose this option if your instructor will require Connect to be used in the course. Your subscription to Connect includes the following: * SmartBook® - an adaptive digital version of the course textbook that personalizes your reading experience based on how well you are learning the content. * Access to your instructor's homework assignments, quizzes, syllabus, notes, reminders, and other important files for the course. * Progress dashboards that quickly show how you are performing on your assignments and tips for improvement. * The option to purchase (for a small fee) a print version of the book. This binder-ready, loose-leaf version includes free shipping. Complete system requirements to use Connect can be found here: http://www.mheducation.com/highered/platforms/connect/training-support-students.html
ISBN: 9781259870453Publication Date: 2017-03-08
Basic & Clinical Biostatistics: Fifth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Learn to evaluate and apply statistics in medicine, medical research, and all health-related fields A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Basic & Clinical Biostatistics provides medical students, researchers, and practitioners with the knowledge needed to develop sound judgment about data applicable to clinical care. This fifth edition has been updated throughout to deliver a comprehensive, timely introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research. The book features "Presenting Problems" drawn from studies published in the medical literature, end-of-chapter exercises, and a reorganization of content to reflect the way investigators ask research questions. To facilitate learning, each chapter contain a set of key concepts underscoring the important ideas discussed. Features: * Key components include a chapter on survey research and expanded discussion of logistic regression, the Cox model, and other multivariate statistical methods * Extensive examples illustrate statistical methods and design issues * Updated examples using R, an open source statistical software package * Expanded coverage of data visualization, including content on visual perception and discussion of tools such as Tableau, Qlik and MS Power BI * Sampling and power calculations imbedded with discussion of the statistical model * Updated content, examples, and data sets throughout
ISBN: 9781260455366Publication Date: 2019-10-04
You can access additional eBooks using discoverE (University Libraries' catalog).
In addition to the unique eBooks found in both AccessPhysiotherapy and the F.A. Davis PT Collection, the WHSC Library provides access to thousands of core medical eBooks through the following collections
Databases
Below are key databases for health sciences and physical therapy:
- CINAHL This link opens in a new windowCovers the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that provide access to information for healthcare decision-making.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowAccess international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present, fully indexed.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new windowAccess the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Includes citations for literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides access to major peer-reviewed journals and scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
- Scopus (SciVerse Scopus) This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
View the Health Sciences A-Z Database list or the entire Emory University A-Z Database list.
Rehabilitation Medicine Journals
Below are some journals related to Rehabilitation Medicine:
- American Journal of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- Journal of the International Society of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine
- North American Journal of Sports Physical Therapy
- Pediatric Physical Therapy
- Physical Therapy
- Journal of Rehabilitation Medicine. Clinical Communications
Many additional journals can be located by searching the University Libraries' catalog, discoverE, or by searching the eJournals database.