Guides to Citing
For examples and help, see the Purdue Online Writing Lab -- Research & Citation Resource
Emory library also provides a guide to citation.
If you are not sure which citation style to use, this guide has helpful advice structured by discipline. You may also want to check with the intended recipient of your work to see if they have specific style requirements.
Avoid Plagiarism
Using the work of another scholar without proper citation, whether that work is available in print or online, is plagiarism, a violation of the Emory Honor Code. See the Citing your Sources guide for more information.
Style Guides
The Citing Your Sources research guide provides information on why you should cite your sources, plagiarism and how to avoid common mistakes, as well as a list of style manuals. A selected list of style manuals are listed below.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Also in print: 16th ed. Z253 .U69 2010 Reference Desk
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed.
In print: LB2369 .G53 2009 Reference Desk
See the Purdue Online Writing Lab MLA Formatting and Style Guide for some online help.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed.
In print: BF76.7 .P83 2010 Reference Desk
See the Purdue Online Writing Lab APA Formatting and Style Guide for some online help.
Zbib
ZoteroBib (Zbib) is a free service that helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. It’s brought to you by the team behind Zotero, the powerful open-source research tool recommended by thousands of universities worldwide, so you can trust it to help you seamlessly add sources and produce perfect bibliographies.
Chicago
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by ISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018-04-16
What is Chicago style citation?
Chicago style is typically used in history and other humanities disciplines. There are two types of Chicago style: The author-date style uses parenthetical citations, which means that the citation information is within parentheses beside the quoted or paraphrased information. The note-bibliography (NB) style requires the use of footnotes or endnotes, which means that the citation information is either at the foot of the page or at the end of the article and is noted at the end of the quoted or paraphrased text with a number in superscript.
How do I cite in Chicago style?
For help with Chicago style, see the following resources:
- You can copy and paste a reference cited in Chicago style directly from many library databases and from Google Scholar (to cite from Google Scholar, click on the quotation mark underneath the reference).
- You can also use a citation manager software, like Zotero or EndNote.
APA
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by
A WALL STREET JOURNAL, USA TODAY, AND PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BESTSELLER - The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition includes four different formats -- spiral-bound and tabbed, paperback, hardcover, and ebook, all of which are full-color. It is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
ISBN: 9781433832154Publication Date: 2019-10-01
What is the American Psychological Association (APA) style?
APA style is commonly used in the social sciences. It involves the use of parenthetical in-text citations, which means that the citation information is within parentheses.
How do I cite sources in APA style?
You can get help with APA from the following:
- You can copy and paste a reference cited in APA style directly from many of the library databases and from Google Scholar (to cite from Google Scholar, click on the quotation mark underneath the reference).
- You can also use a citation manager software, like Zotero or EndNote.
MLA
What is Modern Language Association (MLA) style?
MLA style is commonly used in the humanities. It involves the use of parenthetical in-text citations, which means that the citation information is within parentheses beside the quoted or paraphrased information.
How do I cite sources in MLA style?
You can get help with MLA from the following:
- You can copy and paste a reference cited in MLA style directly from many of the library databases and from Google Scholar (to cite from Google Scholar, click on the quotation mark underneath the reference).
- You can also use a citation manager software, like Zotero or EndNote.
ASA
American Sociological Association Style Guide by ISBN: 9780912764559
What is ASA style?
ASA format is commonly used in Sociology. It involves the use of parenthetical in-text citations, which means that the citation information is within parentheses beside the quoted or paraphrased information.
How do I cite sources in ASA style?
You can get help with ASA from the following:
- You can copy and paste a reference cited in ASA style directly from many of the library databases and from Google Scholar (to cite from Google Scholar, click on the quotation mark underneath the reference).
- You can also use a citation manager software, like Zotero or EndNote.
Zotero
Zotero helps you collect, manage, and cite research sources. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies using Word or Open Office.
EndNote
EndNote is a program that makes it possible to collect and organize references in a database and instantly create properly formatted bibliographies.