Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
The Middle East and Africa Database (MIDA) is a bibliographic and fulltext database that provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel and the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide, including in Europe and North and South America.
An abridged and edited translation of the Persian Da'irat al-Ma'arif-i Buzurg-i Islami, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world.
One unique feature of this work of reference lies in the attention it gives to Shi'i Islam and its rich and diverse heritage, which makes it complementary to other encyclopaedias. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, it off ers the western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shi'i Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilisation, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition
Access material related to distinguished Muslims of different age and regions. Themes include sciences, politics, geography, ethnography, and more.
"The Encyclopaedia of Islam Online Edition includes the entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the printed edition, over 12,000 printed pages, and sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture. It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its geographical and historical scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states."
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World includes articles on the history, religion, cultural practices, and political economies of Muslims from the seventh-century in West Asia to today’s Muslim societies throughout the continents of Asia, Africa, the Subcontinent, Europe, and the Americas.
Contains material related to the Middle East and other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Draws resources from many journals, as well as conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.