Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Medicine Resources

Resources and Services Overview for Faculty, Residents, Staff

Literature Search Service

If you need assistance with performing a literature search, please feel free to contact me directly via: mia.s.white@emory.edu or use the "Ask a Librarian" service to request assistance.  You can also make an appointment so that we can discuss your topic.

The WHSC Library also provides a systematic review service.  You can either contact me for more information or visit our SR page.  

Case Files

undefined

The Case Files are a well known collection of clinical vignettes, which include a case, the approach to treatment, clinical pearls, and comprehension questions.  Login with your University NetID and password to access the Case Files.  Emory University has access to the entire Case Files collections. If you register for a MyAccess profile, you can optimize all the features such as save answers, bookmark certain sections and more.  The disciplines listed in the tabbed area are just a handful that are available.  Some of the other Case Files include the following sections:

undefined

The Emergency Medicine Case Files by Drs. Eugene C. Toy, Adam J. Rosh. Barry C. Simon. Katrin Y. Takenaka, and Terrence H. Liu include the following topics:

 

undefined 

The Internal Medicine Case Files by Drs. Eugene C. Toy, John T. Patlan Jr, and Mark T. Warner cover the following topics:


 

The Pediatrics Case Files by Eugene C. Toy; Mark D. Hormann; Robert J. Yetman; Margaret C. McNeese; Sheela L. Lahoti; Mark Jason Sanders; Abby M. Geltemeyer cover the following topics:

undefined

The Surgery Case Files developed by Drs. Eugene C. Toy; Terrence H. Liu, Andre R. Campbell and Barnard J. A. Palmer include the following topics:

 

The entire Case Files collection is available here.

Citation & Data Management

Learning a citation management program is essential to help build your own digital library and to streamline the bibliography process.  While there are numerous citation management programs available, the following 3 are probably the best well known:

 

Emory University has a site license for the citation management program EndNote.  You can download and install EndNote from the Software Express server with your University NetID and password. For Mac users running Big Sur, you will have to download EndNote 20 from the Software Express server.

For additional information regarding EndNote, visit the WHSC Library's EndNote guide.

 

           undefined

There are other open source (free) citation management programs available like Mendeley and Zotero.  Please visit the citation management page for more information.

 

undefined

Emory University Licenses Covidence, a tool that helps with the literature review process from deduplication of records, to the screening process, all the way to the extraction process.  Covidence is available to all Emory faculty, staff, and students.  Non-Emory individuals working on Emory projects can be added to a project, once an account has been established.

Course Reserves Information for Faculty

Course Reserves is a library service that allows instructors to make course materials available to students in the library and/or online.

Because this service manages both physical and electronic items, Course Reserves provides your students with both information on physical reserves available at the library and access to online materials.

Course Reserves employs an online reserves management system that allows you to manage reserves for your course, and provides your students with information on materials available at the library and online.

Course materials can be organized according to timeframe, subject matter or any other designation. 

All courses reserves materials are automatically accessible through Canvas.

Current Awareness

Stay Current

  • BrowZine Visually explore Emory libraries' journal collections. Fill "My Bookshelf" with favorite titles and alerts for new content.
  • NEJM Journal Watch Succinct, informative summaries of the latest clinical literature created by a New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) editorial board. Helps healthcare professionals stay informed and current with the latest medical research developments in a clinically relevant context.
  • AccessMedicine 2-Minute Medicine High-impact reports of breaking medical literature and seminal studies in multiple specialties. Curated and reported by a physician publishing group out of Harvard Medical School.
  • ACP Journal Club A monthly feature of the Annals of Internal Medicine, created by the American College of Physicians (ACP). Summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine and subspecialties from over 120 clinical journals

Create alerts for new content

  • PubMed @ Emory MyNCBI features saved searches alerts and article collections.
  • DynaMed Create an individual account to receive topic-specific updates on point of care information.
  • JAMA Create an account for notification of new journal issues.
  • NEJM Create an account and sign up for specialty-specific email alerts.

To set up an alert in PubMed, perform a search and then use the Create alert function to receive alerts. 

  • Go to Emory's PubMed.
  • Run a search on a topic or the journals you want to follow.
  • For instance, if you wanted to keep current with JAMA or the New England Journal of Medicine: JAMA[Journal] OR "N Engl J Med"[Journal]
  • Then run the search.
  • Click on "Create alert" below the search box.

  • Select a way that you wish to save the search. You have a variety of ways that you can save searches. You can use your Google account or eRA commons, etc. 
  • If you select "more login options" you can choose to use your Emory University NetID and password:
  • Once you determine how you save you search, you will need to select the frequency and the format you wish to receive the alert:

  •  

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

If Emory University does not have an article, book, or DVD you need, you can use the InterLibrary Loan Service.  It is a free service provided by the Emory University Libraries for items unavailable in our print or online collections.  Go to: https://illiad.library.emory.edu/ and login with your University NetID and password. 

Once you are on the ILLiad page, choose an option:

undefined

Populate the online form and click Submit Request at the bottom.

undefined

You should receive the article (pdf) within 1-2 business days.  If you are requesting a book it will take longer (between 10-14 business days).  The lending library has to mail the physical book to Emory University.

 

 

Medical Multimedia: Images, Podcasts, & Videos

  • AccessAnesthesiology: Videos of such procedures as airway management, reginal anesthesia, TTE, TEE and much more.
  • AccessEmergency Medicine: Videos of emergency procedure techniques and Tintinalli's videos.
  • AccessMedicine: Images and videos on diagnosis, pharmacology, pathophysiology, patient safety, and physical exam.
  • AccessPhysiotherapy: Interactive cadaver dissection, videos, slide sets, and audio content.
  • AccessSurgery: Radiology images, patient safety modules, and procedure videos.
  • Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy: Comprehensive video atlas of the human anatomy.
  • Annals of Internal Medicine Multimedia: Contains, videos, graphics, and podcasts related to clinical practice.
  • Bates' Visual Guide to Physical ExaminationVideo content showing head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
  • ClinicalKey: The multimedia section contains videos and images of procedures and techniques mostly pulled from ebooks and articles.
  • e-Anatomy: Comprehensive interactive atlas of human anatomy with over 40 different modules.
  • JAMAevidence Podcasts: A monthly series of discussions on core issues in evidence-based medicine by leading practitioners in the field. 
  • JAMA Network Learning: Contains audio and video content related to clinical practice, patient care, procedures and more from the network of JAMA publications.
  • Netter Custom Presenter: Customizable Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy. Contains clinically-focused illustrations and radiologic images and videos.
  • NEJM Multimedia: Contains videos and audio files for patient care and clinical practice.
  • OVID: The multimedia section contains videos and images of procedures and techniques from ebooks and articles. Specialties include nursing, surgery, neurology, physical therapy, OBGYN, cardiology, and emergency medicine.
  • PediatricsPodcasts created by the American Academy of Pediatrics called "Pediatrics On Call," these podcasts contain "interviews about new research and hot topics in the field of pediatrics..."

Recommend a Journal or Book

If you would like a book or journal to be considered to be added to the WHSC Library's collection, please use the "Ask a Librarian" form to make the recommendation or contact Mia S. White directly: mia.s.white@emory.edu.  

Additional Services

To see additional services such as h-index and publication report services visit the "Using the Library" on the main WHSC Library's page.