African Newspapers: The British Library Collection features 64 newspapers from throughout Africa, all published before 1901.
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection includes publications from Djibouti, Egypt, Mauritius and Saint Helena, as well as deep new coverage of Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and South Africa. Africa produced comparatively few newspapers in the 19th century, each page in this collection is significant, offering invaluable insight into the people, issues and events that shaped the continent. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements. obituaries and military reports, the newspapers in this one-of-a-kind collection chronicle African history and daily life as never before. Students and researchers will find news and analysis covering the European exploration of Africa, colonial exploitation, economics, Atlantic trade, the mapping of the continent, early moves towards self-governance, the growth of South Africa and much more.
This database consists of full-text national and regional newspapers from Victorian Britain, digitized from the collection of the British Library. It is the sister product to 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (1604-1800).
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
From Napoleon’s defeat at Waterloo to the Russian Revolution to Nelson Mandela’s release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers. Users can study the progression of issues over time by browsing issues of The Guardian and its sister paper, The Observer, which offer coverage of 1821-2003 and 1791-2003, respectively, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.
Access all published issues from 1842 to 2003. Entirely full-text searchable with new, high-quality digital imaging from flat unbound print sets. Covers a wide range of subject areas in the 19th and 20th.
Full page and article images of the Times (London) with searchable full text, including searchable advertisements and photographs, back to the first issue.
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This archive does not include the Sunday Times, a newspaper independent of the Times. Coverage: 1785-1985. (Use Nexis Uni for Times issues July 1, 1985 to present)
This collection includes the complete run of The Times Literary Supplement. Among over 300,000 reviews, letters, poems, and articles, users will find influential criticism, reviews of award-winning novels, philosophical works, and insightful debate from influential writers and critics.
Until 1974, writings and influential criticism of hundreds of the twentieth century's most important writers and thinkers were kept anonymous to foster open discussion. The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive now discloses the identity of these contributors.
The contributions, struggles, and identities of those who lived the African Diaspora come to life through personal accounts, video, and primary sources in this global black studies collection that focuses on the migrations, communities, and ideologies of people of African descent. The collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including books, government documents, personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera from the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.
British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Complementing Alexander Street’s North American Women's Letters and Diaries, the database lets researchers view history in the context of women’s thoughts—their struggles, achievements, passions, pursuits, and desires.
Access primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
to records of commerce and trade, taxation, population and property; to art and architecture, science and the history of ideas; to historical and topographical sources relating to specific places; and to parliamentary history. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.
Caribbean colonial statistics from the British Empire, 1824-1950: These Caribbean statistics cover the transition from slavery to World War 2.
For the most part these statistical records cover the years from 1839 to 1938, although some records commence from 1824 and others continue until 1950. The records for each colony are prefaced by a brief introduction to that colony. The population returns are published alongside education reports, while grants of land reveal who held the colonial wealth. Imports and exports are joined by prison records which reveal what the crimes were at that time. As these records are published together, the reader can compare the living conditions and access to services across colonies. The imperial statistics in this collection are listed by year for ease of reference. The territories covered by this resource include Antigua, the Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, British Guiana, British Honduras, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica, Leeward Islands, Montserrat, Nevis, St. Christopher (Kitts), St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Tortola, Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, and the Virgin Islands (British).
Access material related to British slave-ownership. Entries include information about the activities, affiliations and legacies of these men and women, and the "absentee" owners based in Britain. The individuals named in these records form the starting point of the Encyclopaedia.
Entries include information about the activities, affiliations and legacies of these men and women, with a particular emphasis on the "absentee" owners based in Britain. The records of the Slave Compensation Commission, set up to manage the distribution of the £20 million compensation, provide a more or less complete census of slave-ownership in the British Empire in the 1830s. The individuals named in these records form the starting point of the Encyclopaedia.
Colonial Law in Africa, 1808-1919: These African laws cover the abolition of slavery and World War 1. Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', each item contains the colonial laws for the year they were published.
The legal records also include property for sale, probate records and bankruptcy notices. This is the first part of the three part series 'Colonial Law in Africa'. These items cover the Napoleonic Wars, the Boer War and the First World War. They also cover the abolition of the legal status of slavery. These gazettes were published alongside the African Blue Books of Statistics during the 19th and 20th centuries. The territories covered by the collection include Kenya, Nigeria (Lagos), Zambia (Northern Rhodesia), Malawi (Nyasaland), Sierra Leone, Zimbabwe (Southern Rhodesia), The Gambia, Ghana (Gold Coast), Uganda, Tanzania (Zanzibar).
Colonial Law in Africa, 1920-1945: These years saw legal changes of ownership as the empire claimed more African countries. Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', each item contains the colonial laws for the year they were published.
A series of legal notices also reveal the impact of the Treaty of Versailles on Tanzania. The Second World War then led to a series of new laws in these colonies. These gazettes were published alongside the African Blue Books of Statistics during the 19th and 20th centuries. the colonial laws for the year they were published. The legal records also include property for sale, probate records and bankruptcy notices. This is the second part of the three part series 'Colonial Law in Africa'. These records cover the transfer of Southern Rhodesia from the British South Africa The territories covered by the collection include: Kenya, Nigeria (Lagos), Zambia (Northern Rhodesia), Malawi (Nyasaland), Sierra Leone, Zimbabwe (Southern Rhodesia), Tanzania (Tanganyika), The Gambia, Ghana (Gold Coast), Uganda, and Tanzania (Zanzibar).
These African laws and ordinances cover the Mau Mau uprising & creation of the first legislative councils. These gazettes contain copies of the laws and ordinances which were introduced in the years they cover.
Each item was originally published as the Government Gazette for a colony and year. Their contents include tenders of property, probate records and insolvency notices. This is the third part of the three part series Colonial Law in Africa. These papers cover the Mau Mau uprising, the creation of the first legislative councils and legal changes to transfer power to those councils. These gazettes were published alongside the African Blue Books of Statistics during the 19th and 20th centuries. The territories covered by the collection include: Lesotho (Basutoland), Kenya, Nigeria (Lagos), Zambia (Northern Rhodesia), Malawi (Nyasaland), Sierra Leone, Zimbabwe (Southern Rhodesia), Tanzania (Tanganyika), The Gambia, Ghana (Gold Coast), Uganda, and Tanzania (Zanzibar).
Contains materials related to British social history from 1937-1972. Contents are divided by material collected by investigators and volunteers. Includes surveys, maps, ephemera, individual accounts, images, and more. Prominent topics include culture, consumerism, family, war, politics, and more.
Contains primary sources from the 19th Century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, and more.
Emory Libraries has access to four collections in this database: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange British Politics and Society British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.
Additionally, this collection includes Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest. Also, this collection includes the features that scholars require such as detailed subject indexing and metadata, textual analysis tools, personalized user accounts, and more.
Search the full-text archive of the popular British magazine Punch (1841-1992), or, The London Charivari, a celebrated weekly magazine of humor and satire.
From its early years as a campaigner for social justice to its transformation into national icon, the heavily illustrated Punch played a central role in the formation of British identity – and how the rest of the world saw the British. It is useful for the study of 19th and 20th century political and social history on key themes such as World War I and World War II; Wars and Conflicts; Colonialism, Imperialism and End of Empire; Impact of New Technology and Modernity; Public Health, Conservation and Environmentalism; Social Change; and The Role of Women. Almanacs, advertisements, and special issues can be searched separately in Advanced Search, but advertisements are not complete since the sets which were used for digitizing had largely removed the advertising.
Access British Parliamentary publications including Hansard, official parliamentary debates, and the British sessional papers, the working papers of government.
Sample categories: East India Company Reports; Government and Administration; Indian army; Indian society -- Christian churches, education, famine, population statistics, the press, public health, religious affairs, slavery.