Books
Black Artists in British Art by
Black artists have been making major contributions to the British art scene for decades, since at least the middle of the 20th century. Sometimes, these artists - with backgrounds in the countries of Africa, the Caribbean, and Asia - were regarded and embraced as British practitioners of note and merit.
Call Number: N6768 .C53 2014ISBN: 9781780762715Publication Date: 2014-07-30
Black British Drama by
Black British Drama: A Transnational Story looks afresh at the ways black theatre in Britain is connected to and informed by the spaces of Africa, the Caribbean and the USA. Michael Pearce offers an exciting new approach to reading modern and contemporary black British drama, examining plays by a range of writers including Michael Abbensetts, Mustapha Matura, Caryl Phillips, Winsome Pinnock, Kwame Kwei-Armah, debbie tucker green, Roy Williams and Bola Agbaje.
Call Number: PN2595.13.B34 P43 2017ISBN: 9781138917859Publication Date: 2017-04-26
Black British Women's Theatre by
This book marks a significant methodological shift in studies of black British women's theatre: it looks beyond published plays to the wealth of material held in archives of various kinds, from national repositories and themed collections to individuals' personal papers.
Call Number: PN1590.B53 A27 2020ISBN: 9783030514587Publication Date: 2020-10-13
Contemporary British Artists of African Descent and the Unburdening of a Generation by
This book explores the notable roles that contemporary British artists of African descent have played in the multicultural context of postwar Britain.
Call Number: N6768 .K47 2017ISBN: 9783319651989Publication Date: 2017-11-16
Modern and Contemporary Black British Drama by
This indispensable overview of modern black British drama spans seven decades of distinctive playwriting from the 1950s to the present. Interweaving social and cultural context with close critical analysis of key dramatists' plays, leading scholars explore how these dramatists have created an enduring, transformative and diverse cultural presence.
Call Number: PR120.B55 M63 2015ISBN: 9780230303195Publication Date: 2014-12-05
Things Done Change by
1980s Britain witnessed the brassy, multi-faceted emergence of a new generation of young, Black-British artists. Practitioners such as Sonia Boyce and Keith Piper were exhibited in galleries up and down the country and reviewed approvingly. But as the 1980s generation gradually but noticeably fell out of favour, the 1990s produced an intriguing new type of Black-British artist. Ambitious, media-savvy, successful artists such as Steve McQueen, Chris Ofili, and Yinka Shoni-bare made extensive use of the Black image (or, at least, images of Black peo-ple, and visuals evocative of Africa), but did so in ways that set them apart from earlier Black artists.
Call Number: N6768 .C437 2012ISBN: 9789042034433Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Other Relevant Resources/Collections
- 70 Objeks & Tings Celebrating 70 years of Carribeans in the UK ((Publication of Museumand)"What treasures did we bring in our grips more than 70 years ago, whilst on the stormy seas from the Caribbean to the UK? Full of dreams and aspirations, these migrants from the Windrush era had staying power and a survival plan of new and creative industries, that helped to build capacity throughout British society."
- Archive Review: The Black Cultural Archives, BrixtonProvides a review and history of the Black Cultural Archives.
- Black African Caribbean Community Archives (London Metropolitan Archives)"For over two decades, London Metropolitan Archives has been working with researchers, educators, students and depositors on rediscovering the stories of Londoners who came from Black African Caribbean backgrounds."
- Black Britain: Archives and Manuscripts in the British Library"The British Library has "significant literary archives and manuscripts relating to Black writing in the UK in the 20th and 21st centuries."
- Black British History on Record from The National Archives"This resource is designed to support the discovery of documents relating to black British history within The National Archives’ collections."
- Black British Social and Political History in the 20th Century Research Guide from The National ArchivesThe Black Cultural Archives has digitized more than 4,000 items from their collection with Google Arts & Culture. These are presented as a series of online exhibits.
- Black Cultural Archives"Black Cultural Archives grew from a community response to the New Cross Massacre (1981), the Police and Criminal Evidence Act (1984); underachievement of Black children in British schools, the failings of the Race Relations Act 1976, and the negative impacts of racism against, and a lack of popular recognition of, and representation by people of African and Caribbean descent in the UK."
- Black Cultural Archives (Exhibits via Google Arts and Culture)The Black Cultural Archives has digitized more than 4,000 items from their collection with Google Arts & Culture. These are presented as a series of online exhibits.
- Black History is British History (British Red Cross)"Explore Black British history through our fascinating online exhibition of Black humanitarians at the British Red Cross."
- Former British Colonial Dependencies, Slave Registers, 1813-1834 (Ancestry UK)"In 1807 The Abolition of Slave Trade Act came into force. The act made the trade in slaves from Africa to the British colonies illegal. To combat illicit transportation following this act many of the British Colonies began keeping registers of black slaves who had been so-called “lawfully enslaved”. In 1819 the Office for the Registry of Colonial Slaves was established in London and copies of the slave registers kept by the colonies were sent to this office. Registration generally occurred once every three years. The registers continue through to 1834 when slavery was officially abolished."
- Forward to Freedom, the history of the British Anti-Apartheid Movement 1959-1994."Forward to Freedom tells the story of the British Anti-Apartheid Movement and its campaigns to support the people of South Africa in their fight against apartheid. The AAM also campaigned for freedom for Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Angola, and against South Africa’s attacks on its neighbours."
- The George Padmore Institute (GPI) Archive"The George Padmore Institute (GPI) promotes understanding of black communities of Caribbean, African and Asian descent in Britain and Europe. It is a London-based archive, library, educational resource and research centre. The archival and library collections capture some of the most important, successful and creative campaigns of resistance organised by black communities in Britain and Europe from the 1960s to the present. Dealing with anti-racist, anti-imperialist, social, political, cultural and economic struggles, the material is rare or unique, which makes the GPI a vital resource in Britain and globally."
- Institute of Race Relations"The Institute of Race Relations is at the cutting edge of the research and analysis that informs the struggle for racial justice in Britain, Europe and internationally."
- Museumand: The National Caribbean Heritage Museum"The National Caribbean Heritage Museum, a social history and community museum celebrating and commemorating the Caribbean contribution to the UK."
- Runnymede Trust"Runnymede is the UK's leading independent race equality think tank...Runnymede is working to build a Britain in which all citizens and communities feel valued, enjoy equal opportunities, lead fulfilling lives, and share a common sense of belonging."
- Windrush Stories from the British LibraryThis site provides access to the stories of the migrants who arrived from the Caribbean to Britain on the Empire Windrush which arrived at Tilbury Docks, Essex in 1948.
- Black British Theatre: 1950–1979 (Article by Natasha Bonnelame)This is an article written by Natasha Bonnelame.
- Black British Theatre: A Transnational Perspective, 2012 (by Michael Christopher Pearce, University of Exeter)"This thesis examines post-war black British theatre through a transnational lens." - Michael Christopher Pearce
- Black Plays Archive (The National Theatre)"The Black Plays Archive supported by Sustained Theatre and Arts Council England, is an online catalogue for the first professional production of every African, Caribbean and Black British play produced in Britain."
- Black Victorians: Black People in British Art, 1800-1900Published in conjunction with an exhibition held at the Manchester Art Gallery Oct. 1, 2005-Jan. 6, 2006, and the Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery Jan. 28-Apr. 2, 2006.
- Talawa Theatre Company Archives and Resources"Talawa is the UK’s outstanding Black British Theatre Company.Their "purpose is to champion Black Excellence in theatre; to nurture talent in emerging and established artists of African or Caribbean heritage and to tell inspirational and passionate stories, reflecting Black experiences through art." - http://www.talawa.com/about/talawas-mission/
- That Black Theatre Podcast (The National Theatre)The National Theatre's new podcast, That Black Theatre Podcast, ... looks at "Black British theatre-making past, present and future." It began on 28th September 2020.
- Black Britain on Film (British Film Institute)" Striking, illuminating and sometimes surprising images of black culture, community and characters, spanning over a century of British film and TV. From some of the earliest appearances at the dawn of the 20th century to groundbreaking postwar documentaries and contemporary features, this collection charts changing attitudes and hidden histories. Here are the trailblazers, the icons, the stereotypes, the controversies. These richly varied films uncover sometimes surprising histories of black culture and community. They tackle troubling issues of race, representation and identity. And they highlight some of the best of black British filmmaking, from the work of pioneers Horace Ové and Menelik Shabazz to later innovators John Akomfrah and Ngozi Onwurah to contemporary successes Noel Clarke and Debbie Tucker Green. The collection also showcases many of the most distinctive and iconic black performers in British film and TV, including Norman Beaton, Earl Cameron, Idris Elba, Lenny Henry, Carmen Munroe, Sophie Okonedo, Paul Robeson, Rudolph Walker and Elisabeth Welch."