Subject Guide
Call Numbers (Finding Books in the Stacks)
Most of the Emory libraries use the Library of Congress classification system of letters and numbers to group materials by subject. These call numbers are listed in Library Search and marked on each book. Use our call number guide to find out which floor of the library has the book you need. See the STACKS floor plan to understand where to begin your search.
2/28 Library Session Agenda
I. Welcome
II. Review LibGuide
Discuss general research databases available through Emory libraries (A-Z databases) - Oxford bibliographies, JSTOR Forum, etc.
Compile helpful KEYWORDS
- what shapes these sherds are from?
- identify the style
- recognize any symbolic language/images on the sherds?
- identify iconography
Discuss specialized databases (Beazley Archive, Kerameikos.org, and LIMC),
III. Library Search and Stacks field trip
Michael C. Carlos Museum Classical Art Collections
- Emory Digital Images on JSTOR
Use. this link to find images from Emory's collections specifically. You can search all of the Emory Collections or select one in particular to search
Getting Started
- Kerameikos.org
Kerameikos.org is a collaborative project focused primarily on the definition of concepts within Greek black- and red-figure pottery
Reference (Finding Background Information)
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide-variety of art resources across Oxford’s art reference works. Includes articles, visual arts, digital images, biographies, bibliographies, encyclopedias, and more.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Art History This link opens in a new windowGuide to scholarly literature in the field of Art History. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
- Brill's New Pauly Online This link opens in a new windowContains articles on all aspects of the ancient world. Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and photographs.
REF DE5 .B7 2002 (4 vols.) Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient world
English translation of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, an update of the academic standard Paulys Real-encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. This interdisciplinary work provides easy, direct access to names, places, dates, and objects from all areas of Greek and Roman culture.
The Oxford classical dictionary
REF-DESK DE5 .O9 1996
Covers interdisciplinary concepts in the classical world such as law, history, art and literature, put together by an international team of contributors.
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology. Brian M. Fagan, ed., Oxford University Press 1996. REFERENCE CC70 .O96 1996 or Oxford Reference Online Oxford University Press.
- Atlas of classical archaeology
REF-ATLAS G1046 .E15 A8 1977
Arranged by region, then broken down by city. Contains black & white photos, maps and diagrams, in addition to a chronology of events, a glossary, and an index. - Atlas of classical history
REF-ATLAS G1033 .G65 1994
Covers the period from 1700 BCE (the Near East) - CE 565 (the Byzantine Empire). Contains black & white maps based on political, economic, cultural, and religious trends. - Muir's historical atlas
REF-ATLAS D12 .M86
Contains color maps of military and political activities of the classical world, including town plans.
REF DF16 .B45 1989, Place-names in classical mythology : Greece
Deals with only mythological places, unless the real historical place had mythological associations. Also contains a chart associating modern place-names with their ancient locations.
REF DE7 .H39 2000 Who's who in the Greek world
This biographical dictionary features entries only on real people (no mythological figures), and includes a glossary, chronology, list of rulers, and black and white maps.