Transnational Feminisms
Recommended Databases for this Course
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
- Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new windowCovers information on women from journals, newsletters, research reports, government and international agencies. Focused towards the disciplines of sociology, psychology, law, health, education, and business.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
- NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
- Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journals in philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, and more.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowIncludes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowContains primary and secondary law material, news sources, and trade journal content. Also includes the Westlaw research tools.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCollection of international sources on women's studies journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, theses, web sites and documents, and more.
Find Articles in Specific Journals
You can search within specific e-journals to find articles, also.
1.Go to ejournals@Emory
2.Type in the title of the journal in the search box. (See the "Selected Journal List" on the left side of this page for ideas.)
Example: Gender & Society
3.Select a Full Text option that has a good date range for your search (for this class, you are likely to be looking for more recent articles)
4.Log in to access the journal
5.You may search within the journal for articles (by topic or author, for example) - often there is a search box provided for doing this labeled, "Search within this journal" - OR you may browse journal issues or a larger database that includes the journal that you are interested in
How do I log in to Emory resources using Google Scholar?
If you use Google Scholar to do your research, you can set your browser up to go directly to the search results in the Emory Libraries, if they're available. Here's how:
1. Go to Google Scholar
2. Click on the three lines next to the "Google Scholar" branding at the top left.
3. Choose "settings," then select "Library links".
4. Type Emory University into the search box, then run the search.
5. Check the box beside Find it @ Emory, then select the blue Save button.
6. Run your search, then select the Find it @ Emory designation next to an article of interest. You will see the options for accessing the full text.
7. Select the Full text option.
8. You will be prompted to log in with your Emory net ID and password. If you keep using the same browser for your search session, your subsequent searches in Google Scholar will not require additional logins during the same browser session. (If you have trouble accessing full-text articles, check to make sure that your browser is accepting *cookies.)
If you have questions or need assistance, please contact askejournals@listserv.cc.emory.edu, your subject librarian, or the library reference desk at your preferred library.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.