Racial Justice Blog Series
NCCHR Upcoming Events
THE NATIONAL CENTER FOR CIVIL AND HUMAN RIGHTS
The National Center for Civil and Human Rights in downtown Atlanta is an engaging cultural attraction that connects the American Civil Rights Movement to today’s struggle for Global Human Rights
Black@Emory
- Black at Emory University
For Black Emory students/alums, faculty, & staff to share their stories.
News from the Emory Libraries
- History course uncovers ‘archival silences’ of enslaved people
“Recognizing how slavery has shaped the present, students are more interested than ever in using the library to explore these connections,” Erica Bruchko says. “These sources, especially those documenting the voices of the enslaved, can be difficult to find and interpret, but students are well up for the challenge.” - Fighting AAPI attacks and discrimination
Roughly 3,800 anti-Asian attacks have been reported since the beginning of the pandemic. Emory Libraries supports the AAPI community and has compiled some helpful resources. - Collection diversity for Latin American LGBT material
This is the third in a series of collection diversity blog posts. It highlights Emory Libraries' Latin American LGBT resources. - Linguistic Diversity at Emory Libraries: A New Focus on Telugu for our South Asia Collection
This is the second of a series of collection diversity blog posts. Emory Libraries is expanding Telugu language resources to support research and teaching at Emory as well as interest from the broader Atlanta Telugu community. - Emory Libraries Collection Diversity Efforts Blog Series
his is the first of a series of blog posts to highlight the Libraries’ efforts to build more inclusive and diverse collections, from reflecting under-represented groups and marginalized populations to acquiring more unique material from smaller publishers, to better representing our communities and their interests.
Celebrating Affinity Months at Emory
ODEI celebrates Affinity Months and the library has created blog entries to celebrate relevant library resource:
- Black History Month (February)
- Women's History Month (March)
- Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month (May)
- LGBTQ Pride Month (June)
- National Hispanic Heritage Month: Digital Primary Sources (Sept-Oct)
- Indigenous Peoples’ Day 2020 (Oct 12th)
- Celebrating National First-Generation College Students
- National American Indian Heritage Month (Nov)
Black History Month
Other News
Williams , Kimber. “Arts & Social Justice.” Emory University News , 25 Jan. 2021. The collaboration was part of Emory’s new Arts and Social Justice Fellows program, which brings together Emory students and faculty members with Atlanta artists to explore how creative thinking and expression can inspire change. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TNc4NhUMWEM&feature=youtu.be
Emory president updates actions university is taking for racial justice Oct 22, 2020. Launching the Task Force on Untold Stories and Disenfranchised Populations, establishing the Descendants Endowment, launching the University Committee on Naming Honors, planning a Fall 2021 conference on the legacy of slavery in higher education, presenting the prior demands of Black students, reviewing policing at Emory, renovations to affinity group spaces for students, and implementing a new general education requirement on race and ethnicity
“Statement on Systemic Racism and the Emory Libraries’ Commitment.” Emory Libraries Blog, 6 July 2020, https://scholarblogs.emory.edu/woodruff/news/statement-on-systemic-racism-and-the-emory-libraries-commitment
“Take It Down!: Symbolic Politics Is Just That.” Common Dreams, https://www.commondreams.org/views/2020/07/06/take-it-down-symbolic-politics-just
New Program Brings Arts and Social Justice to Classes across Campus. 2 July 2020, http://news.emory.edu/stories/2020/07/er_arts_and_social_justice_fellowship/campus.html
In Memoriam
- Emory Community Mourns Passing of Civil Rights Leader C.T. Vivian.
Emory mourns the passing on Friday (July 17) of Rev. C.T. Vivian, 95, a civil rights leader who worked alongside Martin Luther King Jr. and spent his life speaking out for equality for African Americans. He placed his papers and those of his late wife, Octavia, with the Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library at Emory University in 2014. - In Memoriam: Listen to Rep. John Lewis' 2014 Commencement Keynote
Hon. John Lewis
Congressman and Civil Rights Hero
May 12, 2014 - In Memoriam: Dr. Pellom McDaniels, III
Pellom McDaniels III, Curator of African American Collections, passed away suddenly, at home, on Sunday April 19, 2020. The depth of our grief at Pellom’s passing is matched only by our appreciation and admiration for the tremendous gifts and contributions Pellom brought to his life’s work to celebrate and document African American lives and history. - In Memoriam: On the Passing of Constance Curry
Emory was saddened to learn of the death of long-time library friend and donor, Constance Curry, on June 20. Connie was a civil rights activist and public servant who dedicated her life to the cause of justice in Atlanta and the South, She was also a writer and tireless advocate for preserving the memory and legacy of the Civil Rights Movement.