HIST 385: History of Skiing & Snowsports

Provides information about museums, collections and libraries in different countries.

The Beekley Foundation has four collections - Mason’s Favorites, Children and Skiing, Ski Poster Art, and Mountains and Skiers.

"The Canadian Ski Hall of Fame and Museum is a national organization that celebrates and enhances the awareness of Canada’s skiing and snowboarding traditions and accomplishments." - https://skimuseum.ca/about-the-museum/

"The Canadian Ski History Writers Project (CSHWP) is an ongoing collaboration between the Canadian Ski Hall of Fame and Museum (CSHFM) and the International Skiing History Association (ISHA)." - https://skiinghistory.org/resources/canadian-ski-history-writers-project

"Henry M. Yaple, the chief librarian at Whitman College in Walla Walla, Wash., spent 11 years assembling a massive bibliography of skiing. The goal was to list every book, dissertation, film video and piece of software published on skiing, in English, between 1890 and 2002." - https://skiinghistory.org/yaple-ski-bibliography

The International Skiing History Association provides information about all skiing resources.

"The Museum is presented by Sierra Ski Museum LLC, a public benefit organization founded by Stan and Maryann Batiste and David C. Antonucci." - https://sierraskimuseum.com/about/

"New England Ski Museum is a member supported non-profit organization dedicated to the history of skiing." - http://newenglandskimuseum.org/visit/our-collections/

"Main content areas include detailed resort coverage such as mountain statistics, resort amenities, resort deals, lift ticket deals, resort ski reports, lodging, trail maps, and location maps." - https://www.skicentral.com/about.html

The Ski Club of Great Britain is "one of the UK's oldest and largest snowsports membership organisations." - https://www.skiclub.co.uk/about-the-ski-club

Provides information about museums in different countries.

"The Swiss Ski Museum is a non profit organization dedicated to the preservation of the history of skiing in Switzerland, honoring the pioneers, ski equipment manufacturers, resorts, ski lifts, and much more all combined for the first time on one website." - https://www.swissskimuseum.com/

"The U.S. Ski & Snowboard Hall of Fame and Museum is the national hall of fame dedicated exclusively to skiing and snowboarding in America." - https://skihall.com/museum/#museum-details

"Vintage Winter was first envisioned during the epic snowfall of 2003. Two outdoor enthusiasts, friends with a shared passion for winter sports and sporting-related antiquities hatched the idea to create a free online virtual museum for fellow collectors, academics, and those who love the active outdoor lifestyle and design." - https://www.vintagewinter.com/pages/about-us