HIST 385: History of Skiing & Snowsports

"The Alan K. Engen papers (1840-2010) contain drafts and research for Engen's 1998 book For the Love of Skiing: A Visual History. Engen is the son of Alf and Evelyn Engen, Utah ski pioneers. He was a member of the University of Utah ski team, and had an extensive career as a competitive skier." - https://collections.lib.utah.edu/browse/topic/skiing

"Alaska’s Digital Archives purpose is to provide a single easy to use location for institutions across this state to share their historical resources." - https://vilda.alaska.edu/digital/about

"The Alf Engen papers (1915-1972) contain photocopied news clippings and mementos gathered by Alf Engen's mother concerning Engen's international Nordic and Alpine skiing careers. Alf Engen was a United States, Olympic, and world champion ski jumper who served as a consultant to the U.S. Army ski forces during World War II. He founded the Alf Engen Ski School at Alta, Utah." - https://collections.lib.utah.edu/browse/topic/skiing

"Images Online is the picture library of the British Library, the national library of the United Kingdom." - https://imagesonline.bl.uk/

"A unique collection of books, magazines, photographs, and ephemera related to all facets and disciplines of skiing. The library is home to one of the most extensive collections of ski books, magazines, photographs, and paper memorabilia in the United States. The photograph collection includes a vast and broad range of photographs of American skiing from the 1930s to 2000s, including Sun Valley, Aspen, Squaw Valley, Mammoth Mountain, Yosemite, Mount Hood, American ski jumping, and many California ski areas, large and small." - http://www.skilibrary.com/index.html

The Colorado Snowsports Museum provides access to a wide variety of digital resources.

"The Anchorage Ski Club was organized in 1937 to promote interest and participation in skiing and to provide and maintain facilities necessary for that sport." - https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/collections/specialcollections/hmc-0055/

"This collection holds the various documents detailing the history of the Intermountain Ski Instructors Association (ISIA). The documents include Board of Directors meetings (1956-1982), Executive Committee meetings (1957-1982), committee reports (1959-1975), General Membership meetings (1959-1966) and various letters (1952-1975)." - https://collections.lib.utah.edu/browse/topic/skiing

"The papers of John S. Mullin consist of correspondence, printed brochures, rule books and other documents related to his service as U.S. delegate to the International Ski Federation." - https://archives-manuscripts.dartmouth.edu/repositories/2/resources/1007

The McCall Public Library Collection has materials related to skiing and winter sports.

"In 2017, USU Special Collections and Archives (SCA) partnered with the College of Agriculture and Applied Science's Outdoor Product Design and Development (OPDD) program to develop a historical collection of books, catalogs, periodicals, photographs, and manuscripts documenting the history of outdoor gear. These materials, together with the strong environmental collections SCA has already built since the early 1970s, form the Outdoor Recreation Archive, which is highlighted in this guide." - https://libguides.usu.edu/outdoorrecreationarchive

The Papers of the Ski Club of Great Britain are housed in De Montfort University's Special Collections.

The Massachusetts Collections Online has several digitized materials related to skiing.

"Vintage Winter was first envisioned during the epic snowfall of 2003. Two outdoor enthusiasts, friends with a shared passion for winter sports and sporting-related antiquities hatched the idea to create a free online virtual museum for fellow collectors, academics, and those who love the active outdoor lifestyle and design." - https://www.vintagewinter.com/pages/about-us

These are digitized photos from the Washington State University Libraries' Digital Collections.

"The Ski & Snow Sports Archives is one of the most comprehensive collections in the entire country for research into the history and development of Utah's prospering winter sports industry." - https://exhibits.lib.utah.edu/s/ski-archives/page/welcome

Photos by Ray Atkeson.

"The archives document the evolution of the sport and industry, including the history of ski competition on local, national, and international levels. In addition to scholarly research of skiing and snowboarding as sports, these materials are valuable resources for research into snow sports related industries such as public relations, transportation, resorts and their amenities, avalanche safety, snow sports equipment, technology, and clothing." - https://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/ski

"The University of Denver collects personal papers, organizational records, publications, and ephemera related to the history of skiing and other winter sports, with a focus on Colorado and the American West." -https://library.du.edu/collections-library-materials/special-collections-archives/ski-history

"More so than almost any other sporting category, snow sports are the nexus of sports, recreation, and transportation. From snowboards to skis to snowmobiles, there are so many ways to traverse and enjoy the snow." - https://www.archives.gov/news/topics/snow-sports

"The Sourdough Ski Patrol was formed during the 1976-1977 ski season. Sourdough broke from the Denali Patrol to become an individual patrol in the Southcentral section of the National Ski Patrol, Alaska Division. The Sourdough Ski Patrol served the Alyeska Ski Resort in Girdwood, Alaska." - https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/collections/specialcollections/hmc-1080/

"This collection contains back issues of the Utah Ski Archives Newsletter. The Ski Archives serves to find and preserve materials that help document the history of Utah and Inter-mountain skiing." - https://collections.lib.utah.edu/browse/topic/skiing

"Selected photos from the Utah Ski Archives, documenting the history of ski competition on local, national, and international levels; the founding of major resorts; snow safety and avalanche control; ski equipment; ski instruction; freestyle skiing; the 10th Mountain Division; back-country skiing; and virtually every facet of winter sports in Utah and the surrounding region." - Utah Ski Archives Photos