Advanced search techniques
- Identify keywords, synonyms, and alternative search terms.
- Search several databases.
- Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to expand or refine results.
- Use wildcard character (*) to search for related terms.
- Follow "cited by" trails in bibliographies or on Google Scholar.
- Set up an account or folder within a database to save materials.
- Set up search alerts to keep track of most current research.
Accessing Emory Digital Resources
Use LibKey Nomad browser plug-in to find journal articles at Emory Libraries.
Locate items outside of Emory
Emory doesn't own a copy of the book you want? Looking for a journal Emory doesn't subscribe to? Request via Interlibrary Loan!
Emory's Interlibrary Loan service can get you items from libraries outside of Emory. Note: The service is free!
A-Z Databases @ Emory Libraries
Look up databases by subject or title using Emory's A-Z databases page.
Suggested databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowCovers journal articles, edited books, and essays in anthropology, archeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides access to major peer-reviewed journals and scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that provide access to information for healthcare decision-making.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowContains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). This is the major index for political science.
- ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch over 80 databases at once. All subjects, and includes historical newspapers
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text of Elsevier journals in science, technology and medicine, as well as selected social sciences and humanities titles.
- Scopus (SciVerse Scopus) This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
- WHOLIS This link opens in a new windowIndexes World Health Organization publications, including articles, journals, and technical documents.
Find news and data sources
See the How do I find newspapers? Topic Guide for help locating newspapers at the Emory libraries.
See the Data Resources and Support guide for help with locating statistics and data for your project.
What about Google Scholar?
Google Scholar may point you to scholarly articles that are accessible in the library databases. If you find an article, follow the prompt that says "Full Text at Emory."
Note: You may use the same search tools used in databases and Library Search (i.e. Boolean Operators, key terms, etc.) in Google Scholar!
Tip: Link Google Scholar to Emory Libraries!
- Navigate to settings
- Select Library links
- Type Emory University
- Search and select checkbox "Find it @ Emory"
- Save
