Jewish Studies Collections

Manuscript Sources for Jewish Studies

This guide identifies manuscript collections related to Jewish history and culture. The Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library of Emory University houses a small but diverse body of primary sources related to Jewish Studies, from ancient and contemporary literature to politics and history. Particular strengths of these collections include Jews and Communism, the Holocaust, Atlanta rabbis, and the Leo Frank case.

The tabs in this research guide list the Rose Library collections most directly related to Jewish Studies. This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections. It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas. In addition to browsing these entries, you may wish to search our catalogs.

To supplement this guide, you may wish to search our catalogs to locate additional materials:

Find Manuscripts and Archives
This database searches detailed descriptions of manuscript collections, which are called finding aids. Finding aids generally include a description of the collection's creator and contents and a box and folder list. The database includes finding aids for unprocessed collections.

Find Books and More
The Emory Libraries catalog contains records for the majority of materials held in Rose Library and the other university libraries, including rare books, manuscript collections and archives, microforms, and audiovisual materials.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in Rose Library. Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. In addition, some collections have access restrictions. Researchers are encouraged to contact Rose Library to insure that materials will be available. We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

Revised editions of this guide will be forthcoming as new collections are accessioned and as material in existing collections is located and identified.