Jewish Studies Collections

Abram, Morris B.  (MSS 514) Papers, ca. 1940-1993; 104.75 linear ft. (110 boxes, 3 oversized papers, 1 oversized bound volume).

Morris B. Abram (1918-2000), a Georgia native, served as an educator, lawyer, statesman, president of Brandeis University and U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations European office. The materials document Abram's lifelong dedication to civil rights and human rights issues through his participation in, and appointment to, national and international committees. The collection contains information about Abram's leadership in several Jewish organizations, as well his involvement in higher education at Morehouse College, Brandeis University, Yeshiva University, and his work with the United Negro College Fund, U.S. Commission on Human Rights, and the United Nations. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

American Jewish Committe, Atlanta Chapter: Atlanta Chapter Oral History Project. (MSS 596). Records, 1976-1983; 1 linear ft.

The Atlanta Oral History Project was begun in celebration of the seventy-fifth anniversary (1980) of the Atlanta Chapter of the American Jewish Committee and was an effort of the Atlanta Chapter to preserve the history of the Jewish community in Atlanta. The collection project was conducted from 1976-1983. Included in the project are interviews with such members as John Sibley, David Marx, Harry Epstein, Sam Eplan, Rebecca Gershon, Donald Oberdorfer, Joseph Cohen, Josephine Heyman, Cecil Alexander, and Sinclair Jacobs. The interviews pertain to recollections about the history of their own community and of Atlanta in general. The collection also includes audiotapes relating to oral history meetings, educational programs, and the Atlanta Chapter of the American Jewish Committee seventy-fifth anniversary collection. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Bernd, Aaron. (MSS 1110) Papers, 1919-1937; 2.5 linear ft. (5 boxes, 25 oversized papers, and 2 oversized bound volumes).

Aaron Bernd (1894-1937) was a Jewish writer, literary editor, and businessman. The papers consist of correspondence, writings, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, printed material, photographs, legal documents, and financial records. Correspondence primarily documents Bernd's professional activities as a literary editor and writer for The Macon Telegraph as well as his freelance literary endeavors. A large collection of personal letters from scholar and educator John Donald Wade concern faculty tenure negotiations at the University of Georgia in the 1920s. The correspondence also includes letters to and from Walter F. White of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) from 1924-1934 concerning racial prejudice in the South, lynching, and contemporary literature. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Boozer, Jack Stewart. (MSS 685) Papers, 1950-1989; 56.5 linear ft. (57 boxes).

Jack Stewart Boozer (1918-1989), scholar and teacher of religion, was a graduate of Emory University, Charles Howard Candler Professor of Religion at Emory, a published author and lecturer, and an activist in civic and social movements. Notes, research materials, manuscripts, and published articles reflect Boozer's research and writing on Paul Tillich, Rudolph Otto, the Holocaust, and ethical issues. Correspondence and administrative and printed materials relate primarily to Emory University, faculty committees, student groups, his musical interests, and his involvement with the Druid Hills Civic Association. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Brodsky, Joseph. (MSS 901) Collection, 1988-1989; .25 linear ft. (1 box).

Iosif Alexandrovich Brodsky (Joseph Brodsky) (1940-1996), a Russian poet, was born May 24, 1940 in Leningrad, USSR (St. Petersburg, Russia) to Jewish parents. He left school at the age of fifteen to study independently, teaching himself English and Polish. In 1964 he was arrested by Soviet authorities on charges of "social parasitism" and sentenced to five years of hard labor on a state farm near the Arctic Circle. He was released after serving less than two years of his sentence, but in 1972 he was forced into exile. Befriended by American poet W. H. Auden, Brodsky settled in the United States, where he taught literature and creative writing at several universities, including the University of Michigan, Queens College, and Mount Holyoke College. He won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1987 and was appointed a Poet Laureate of the United States in 1991. He died of a heart attack in New York City on January 28, 1996. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

The Joseph Brodsky collection contains collected materials relating to the life and work of Joseph Brodsky. The collection includes two printed commencement speeches by Brodsky and two poems inscribed to him by poet Mark Strand.

Clayton County, Georgia. Oral History. (MSS 828). Collection, 1989-1998; 1 linear ft. (3 boxes).

The Clayton County oral history project was initiated by Lucy C. Huie, a long-time resident of Jonesboro, Georgia. After interviewing her mother in the 1980's, she turned to her own community with the intention of developing an oral history collection. From 1989-1991, she interviewed people from Jonesboro and Clayton County. In April 1992, she and Philip R. Callaway joined forces and began to interview other long-time Clayton County citizens. Their interviews dealt with the broad subject of social change since World War II.

The collection consists of the eighty-eight audiocassette tapes of the Atlanta-area oral history interviews recorded from 1989-1998. The interviews include a cross-section of interviewees from Clayton County, the majority of them from the county seat of Jonesboro. Some interviewees are not Clayton County citizens, but are people who have worked there for many years. A few interviewees live outside Clayton County, but are related to the broad thrust of the project by historical period, topic, or family relationship. The collection consists of interviews with males, females, whites, African-Americans, Protestants, Catholics, and Jews. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Davis, James C. (MSS 507). Papers, 1919-1966; 222.25 linear ft. (223, 28 oversized papers).

James Curran Erskine Davis (1895-1981) was an attorney, judge, and legislator. He was a state legislator from DeKalb County, Georgia (1924-1928), and attorney for the Georgia Department of Industrial Relations (1928-1931) and for DeKalb County (1931-1934), a Georgia Superior Court judge (1934-1946), and a Georgia representative to the United States Congress (1947-1963). Davis married Mary Lou Martin (1905-1969) in 1932, and was publisher (1964-1965) of the Atlanta Times, a conservative newspaper. The collection consists of correspondence, audio-visual materials, speeches, subject files, and fact files. The subject files and fact files include Jewish-related materials. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Draper, Theodore. (MSS 579) Research files, 1919-1970; 30 linear ft. (48 boxes, 122 microfilm reels, 1 oversized paper).

Theodore Draper (1912-2006), writer on twentieth century international affairs, was born in Brooklyn, New York, to Samuel and Annie Draper.  He was educated at Brooklyn College and went on to write extensively for many publications and publish several books. Draper is perhaps best known for his historical studies of the American Communist Party. He has been a research fellow at the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace (1963-1974) and a member of the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton (1968-1973). He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and serves as consultant to the Twentieth Century Fund.  In 1979 Emory University acquired from Theodore Draper the files of material that he had collected during the course of his research on the history of American Communism. The materials in this collection document the history of the American Communist Party, 1930-1945, and, to a lesser extent, American Communism from 1919-1929, as well as the persons (primarily Earl Browder, General Secretary of the Communist Party, 1930-1945) who were active in party affairs, particularly for the later period. The papers include material related to Jews involved in American Communism and the situation of Jews in America in general. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Emory University. Atlanta Hillel. (RG 300/Series 9). Records, 1963-2006 (bulk 1963-1988); 1.5 linear ft. 2 boxes.

Atlanta Hillel, an organization for Jewish College students in Atlanta, Georgia, includes students from Emory University, Georgia State University, Georgia Institute of Technology, and Oglethorpe University. The collection consists of records of the Atlanta Hillel from 1963-1988. The files include membership applications, correspondence, subject files, public relations materials, budget reports, and information on the programs at Georgia Tech, Oglethorpe University, and Emory University. Files also include papers of the Reformed Jewish Students Committee (circa 1982-1984_ and pledge cards from the Jewish dental fraternity, Alpha Omega (circa 1963-11977). See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Emory University Archives. Emory University Center for Research in Social Change Witness to the Holocaust. (RG 600/Series 11). Project files, 1978-1982; 31 boxes.

The Center for Research in Social Change was establoshed at Emory University in 1965 to promote study of social change and to train students in methods of social research. Fred Roberts Crawford was appointed first director in 1966. The collection consists of papers of the Witness to the Holocaust project conducted by the Emory University Center for Research in Scoail Change from 1978-1982. The papers include recorded interviews with concentration camp liberators and tapes and transcripts of conversations with camp survivors, many of them residents oif Atlanta, Georgia. There is also a large collection of photographs, originals and reproductions, depicting the conditions in concentration camps circa 1945. The collection also includes subject files, including clippings, reports, and published materials relating to the Holocaust, Nazism, Israel, and Emory University's Witness to the Holocaust project; photographs from the post-World War II era; and publications, including entire issues of such newspapers and magazines  as Hadassah, Martyrdom and the Resistance, and The Southern Israelite. The collection documents events and long-term effects of the Holocaust. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Epstein, Melech. (MSS 803) Papers, 1964-1978; 2 linear ft. (2 boxes).

Melech Epstein (1889-1979), author and journalist, was born in Byelorussia and moved to the United States in 1913. He was a member of the Communist party until 1939 and edited the Yiddish Communist daily, Die Freiheit. The collection consists of papers of Melech Epstein from ca. 1964-1978. The papers include Epstein's writings, research, books and other printed materials, much of it pertaining to Marxism, Communism, and related topics. The papers also include photographs, memoirs, and correspondence relating to the publication of his writings and to personal matters, particularly his involvement in activities concerning the welfare of Jews in America. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust. (MSS 971). Testimonies, circa 1979-2003; 3 linear ft. (6 boxes).

In 1979, a grassroots organization, the Holocaust Survivors Film Project, began videotaping Holocaust Survivors and witnesses in New Haven, Connecticut. In 1981, the original collection of testimonies was deposited at Yale University, and the Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies opened its doors to the public the following year. Since then, the Archive has worked to record, collect, and preserve Holocaust witness testimonies, and tomake its collection available to researchers, educators, and the general public.

The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies, part of Manuscripts and Archives, at Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University currently holds more than 4,000 testimonies, which are comprised of over 10,000 recorded hours of videotape. The testimonies contain first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Note: One loan from the Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University. Special restrictions apply. Researchers will be required to fill out a registration/user form before viewing material. Emory faculty my borrow edited versions for classroom use.

Frank, Leo. (MSS 674) Collection, 1915-1988; .75 linear ft. (2 boxes, 1 oversized paper, 3 microfilm reels).

Leo Max Frank (1884-1915), son of Rudolph and Rhea Frank, was born in Paris, Texas. The Franks, a Jewish family, moved to Brooklyn, New York, during Leo Frank's infancy. He attended Pratt Institute and Cornell University, graduating from Cornell in 1906 with a degree in mechanical engineering. After working as a draftsman and testing engineer for companies in New York and studying pencil manufacturing in Europe he came to Atlanta, Georgia, to work with his uncle, Moses Frank, to establish the National Pencil Company factory. In 1908 he became Superintendent and Vice President.

Frank was sentenced to death by hanging (1913) for the murder of Mary Phagan, an employee he supervised at the factory. His sentence was commuted to life imprisonment (July 1915) because of doubt by some trial officials as to his guilt. Thomas E. Watson, publisher of The Jeffersonian, wrote scathing articles attacking Governor Slaton's decision. Watson called for the boycotting of Jewish businesses and defended lynch mobs as "guardians of liberty". Frank was abducted by a mob (August, 1915) and taken from a prison farm outside Milledgeville, Georgia, to Marietta, Georgia, where he was hung. On December 22, 1986, a posthumous pardon was granted to Leo Frank by the Georgia Board of Pardons and Paroles on the grounds that the state had failed to adequately protect his life and chance for further appeal. The collection consists of an artificially assembled group of materials related to the trial and lynching of Leo Frank, including a transcript of the sentence commutation hearing, defense attorney Luther Z. Rosser’s notes from the trial, and an address and exhibits created by Tom Watson Brown for a talk he delivered to the Symposium Club asserting Frank’s guilt. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Note:  Restrictions to access and reproduction may apply. Related materials are located at the William Breman Jewish Heritage Museum. See also Ralph McGill papers, Ernest Rogers papers, Mildred Seydell papers, Alfred Uhry collection, and Thomas E. Watson collection.

Louis and Anna Geffen family papers. (MSS 651), circa 1898-2010 48.75 linear feet (93 boxes), 3 bound volumes (BV), 6 oversized papers boxes and 3 oversized papers folders (OP), 1 extra oversized (XOP), AV Masters: 1 linear feet (1 box and LP1), and 1.2 MB born digital material (8 files)

The Louis and Anna Geffen family papers consist of personal, professional, and religious material, including correspondence, writings, printed material by and about the Geffen family, photographs and photograph albums, subject files, audiovisual materials, and memorabilia relating mainly to Louis and Anna Geffen, and their son Rabbi David Geffen. The collection contains a small amount of material relating to Rabbi Tobias Geffen including biographical information, printed material, and photographs. Of particular interest is documentation relating to Rabbi Tobias Geffen's legal responsum which determined that Coca-Cola is kosher including multiple handwritten (in Hebrew) drafts and a galley proof of the same.

Hecht, Anthony. (MSS 926) Papers, circa 1894-2005; 89 linear ft. (180 boxes, 16 oversized papers, 7 bound volumes, 4 oversized bound volumes).

The papers of American poet Anthony Hecht (1923-2004) include correspondence (1895-2005); drafts of poetry and prose writings (1951-2004); writings by other authors that is primarily undated; personal files (189402005); academic files (1945-2000); printed material (1941-2005); subject files (1951-2005); a small group of audio-visual materials (1964-2004); photographs (circa 1880s-2002); and scrapbooks (1951-1998). The collection documents the development of Hecht's writing career as well as his lengthy teaching career. In addition, materials document Hecht's professional efforts in literary organizations and his interest in the arts. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Restrictions: Letters from Seamus Heaney are closed without the written permission of Seamus Heaney. Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

Jaffe, Philip J. (MSS 605) Papers, 1936-1980; 90.25 linear ft. (160 boxes, 13 oversized papers, 1 oversized bound volume, 3 microfilm reels).

Philip Jacob Jaffe (1897-1980) was born in Mogileb, a village near Poltova in the Ukraine, the second son of Morris Jaffe, a Jewish laborer, and Reva Jaffe. In 1906, he immigrated to the United States with his mother and three younger siblings, joining the father who had left Russia in 1904 to seek a new home for his family. Jaffe considered himself a Socialist during the 1920's, but grew increasingly dissatisfied with the party. In 1932, he attended the first meeting of the American Friends of the Chinese People (AFCP), where, except for Jaffe, all present were also members of the Communist Party of the United States (CPUSA). In 1933, under the pseudonym of J.W. Phillips, Jaffe became the first editor of the AFCP's newsletter (later a glossy magazine) China Today which published numerous reports on the Chinese Communists. In addition to editing two journals, he was the author of New Frontiers in  Asia (1943), served on the boards of numerous organizations, consulted and corresponded with scholars and government officials, spoke  on college campuses and in large public forums, and was a prominent figure in left-wing political circles. Although Jaffe was never a member of the Communist Party (CPUSA), his contacts with the CPUSA were close. The Philip J. Jaffe papers include personal papers, correspondence manuscripts by Jaffe and others, photographs, documents, clippings, pamphlets, and rare journals. The collection includes materials related specifically to Jewish affairs. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Klehr, Harvey. (MSS 664) Papers; 64.5 linear ft. (88 boxes).

Harvey Klehr is Mellon Professor of Politics and History at Emory University. He has written extensively in the areas of American communism and Soviet espionage. The collection contains political periodicals and books, including articles related to Jews in Russia and the United States; FBI research files; oral history interviews; and communications between Communist Party operatives. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection. 

Note: Restrictions to access and reproduction may apply.

Lane, Mary. (MSS 607) Papers, 1954-1980; .5 linear ft. (1 box).

Mary Lane, English teacher from Waycross, Georgia, who after reading Anne Frank's Diary of a Young Girl, began corresponding with Frank's father Otto, the only member of the Frank family to survive the Nazi concentration camp Bergen-Belsen and his second wife, Fritzi Frank. The collection consists of papers of Mary Lane from 1954-1980. The collection includes correspondence from Otto and Fritzi Frank to Lane in which they discuss the "secret annex" where the Franks hid from the Nazis in Amsterdam, Netherlands; the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp in Germany; Miep Gies, the women who aided the Franks; Anne Frank's diary and reputation; the play based on her diary; Lane's visits to Europe and subsequent meetings with the Franks; and post World War II politics. The collection also includes photos of the Frank and Gies families; clippings, and printed material relating to Anne Frank's diary and its dramatization; and copies of the diary and collected stories by Anne Frank. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Levine, Isaac Don. (MSS 700) Papers, ca. 1914-1978; 82 linear ft. (149 boxes).

Isaac Don Levine (1892-1981), journalist and author, was born in Russia into a family of a Zionist sympathizer. He came to the United States in 1911 and worked for the Kansas City Star and the New York Tribune. In the early 1920s he returned to Russia to cover the civil war as a correspondent for American newspapers.  In the late 1920s and during the 1930s, Levine became well known as a columnist for the Hearst newspapers. After World War II, he became editor of Plain Talk, an anti-communist monthly. He was also author of more than a dozen books. In the early 1950s, Levine was active in forming the American Committee for the Liberation of the Peoples of Russia, organized in Munich, West Germany, with the objective of seeking the overthrow of the Soviet regime. The collection documents Levine's interest in the Russian Revolution; the anti-communist movements in the United States, particularly anti-Soviet and anti-Chinese; the defection of various individuals from the Soviet Union; and the careers and lives of the Romonov Imperial family, Trotsky, Gorky, and Stalin. The collection includes materials related to Jews in Russia. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Lewyn, Bert. (MSS 1148). Bert and Esther Lewyn family papers, 1920-2009; 3 linear ft. (3 boxes).

The family papers of Bert and Esther Lewyn consist primarily of material relating to the publication of Bert Lewyn's Holocaust memoir, On the Run in Nazi Berlin, in addition to family correspondence, photographs, and printed material.

McBlair, Virginia Myers. (MSS 74) Papers, 1818-1894; .5 linear ft. (2 boxes).

Virginia Myers McBlair (ca. 1821-1896) was born in Pensacola, Florida, and died in Virginia. She married (1843) William McBlair of Maryland, a commander in the U.S. Navy, who was a part of the Confederate Navy as of 1861. He died (1863) while commanding the C.S.S. Atlanta. The McBlairs had five children and also raised the child of a relative. The eldest son, William Jr., served on the Atlanta with his father. Letters and notes are to Virginia McBlair from her husband William McBlair, concerning Confederate Navy life and military operations, as well as from her mother Louisa Marx Myers concerning family, home, religion (the Marx and Myers were Jewish), and social activities.  These letters include occasional references to Jewish-Christian relations. The collection also includes letters to Louisa Myers from her husband Samuel Myers (Virginia's father) in Pensacola, Fla., discussing life there, Indians, and slave traders, and from Louisa to her father Joseph Marx. School compositions are Virginia's, and a sermon is from Samuel Myers' funeral. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Note: Related collections of Myers Family Papers are located at the American Jewish Archives in Cincinnati, Ohio, and the Virginia Historical Society of Richmond, Virginia.

McGill, Ralph. (MSS 252) Papers, 1853-1971; 66.5 linear ft. (126 boxes, 32 oversized papers, 75 oversized bound volumes, 7 microfilm reels).

Ralph Waldo Emerson McGill (1898-1969), journalist, editor, and publisher, was born in Igou's Ferry, Tennessee, and died in Atlanta, Georgia. All materials document McGill's personal life, his career as editor and publisher of the Atlanta Constitution, and his leadership role in the fight for civil rights in the South. Subject Files include a folder (box 53, folder 13) on the Leo Frank case (see also Frank, Leo MSS 674). See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

New South Miscellany. (MSS 49). .5 linear ft. (1 box).

The collection of various manuscript materials related to the New South includes Ruth Scheinberg's oral history projct entitled, "The Pekl: Folk/Histories of Jewish Peddlers in the South 1890-1914" (1980). Included with the corrected typescript are summaries and audiocassettes of the interviews with descendants of Jewish peddlers, background of the subject matter, and an explanation of the terminology. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Rich, Richard. (MSS 575) Papers, 1902-1981; 42.5 linear ft. (83 boxes, 7 oversized papers, 9 oversized bound volumes).

Richard H. Rich (1901-1975), merchant and business executive, was born in Atlanta, Georgia, the son of Herman and Rosalind Rich Rosenheim. His father was a shoe manufacturer in Savannah, his mother the daughter of Morris Rich, founder of Rich's department stores in Atlanta. Richard Rich legally changed his name from Rosenheim to Rich in 1920 at the urging of his grandfather. In 1924, he was elected a member of the Board of Directors of M. Rich and Brothers' real estate holding company and, in 1929, the year the company changed its name from M. Rich and Bros. to Rich's, Inc., he became a Rich's director. He continued his rise through management ranks, being elected company vice-president in 1937, treasurer in 1947, and president in 1949. Twelve years later, he became Chairman of the Board, a position he held until 1972 when he entered semi-retirement as Chairman of the Executive Committee. He was president and life trustee of the Rich Foundation, a charitable non-profit corporation, and a member of The Temple (Jewish Reform religion), the Standard Town and Country Club, and the Atlanta City Club. The Richard H. Rich Papers contain general correspondence, subject files, materials created by and about Rich's, Inc., family financial and legal papers, writings and printed materials, photographs, scrapbooks, memorabilia, and miscellany. These papers document Rich's business career, his service to the Army, his extensive participation in local civic and business organizations, and, to a lesser extent, his role as a family man. The movement toward desegregating store facilities and the sit-ins of the early 1960's protesting store policies are covered in the Rich's, Inc. series. Papers relating to Hosea Williams's 1973 lawsuit against Rich for slander during a strike of black employees are found in the subject files. Although the Rich family was one of the most prominent Jewish families in Atlanta, their role in Atlanta's Jewish community from the 1860's when Morris Rich opened shop to modern times is hardly mentioned. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection. 

Note: Restrictions to access and reproduction may apply. Related materials are located at the William Breman Jewish Heritage Museum.

Rogers, Ernest. (MSS 328) Papers, 1918-1967; 10 linear ft. (20 boxes, 1 oversized paper). 

Ernest Rogers (1897-1967), the son of Wallace R. (a Methodist minister) and Mary (Brinsfield) Rogers, was born in Atlanta, Georgia. He attended the Thomson High School and the Atlanta Boys High School and received a Bachelor of Science degree from Emory University in 1920. Rogers was founder and first Editor of the Emory Wheel, campus newspaper, and in 1920 was president of both his class and the entire student body. He was elected an alumnus member of Phi Beta Kappa since there was no chapter at Emory while he was an undergraduate. Since shortly after his graduation from Emory he was connected with the Atlanta Journal where he was a feature writer. The collection consists of the papers of Ernest Rogers from 1918-1967. The papers include correspondence, biographical information, writings, scrapbooks, a diary (1918-1919), newspaper columns (1945-1967), photographs, book illustrations, notebooks, sound recordings, minutes, and memorabilia. Of particular interest is a special notebook on Leo Frank (see Frank, Leo MSS 674), as well as another folder of materials related to the Frank case. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Rothschild, Jacob M. (MSS 637) Papers, 1933-1985; 13.25 linear ft. (27 boxes, 2 oversized papers).  

Rothschild (1911-1973) was rabbi of The Temple, Atlanta's leading Reform Judaism congregation, from 1947 to 1973. During this period, he was active in the civil rights movement and school desegregation. Correspondents of note include Ralph Abernathy, Jimmy Carter, Coretta Scott King, Martin Luther King, Jr. and Ralph McGill. The collection includes correspondence, sermons, writings, clippings, printed and audiovisual materials, and memorabilia. There are also some materials relating to the 1958 bombing of The Temple, which was in retaliation for Rothschild’s stance on Civil Rights. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Note: Related collections are located at the William Breman Jewish Heritage Museum and the Atlanta History Center.

Seydell, Mildred Woolley. (MSS 449) Papers, 1842-1987; 65.25 linear ft. (150 boxes, 48 oversized papers, 2 medals).

Seydell (1889-1988) was a journalist, author, and lecturer from Atlanta, Georgia where she worked for the newspaper Atlanta Georgian from 1924-1939. She also lived and worked in New Jersey and West Virginia (1910-1923) and in Belgium (1947-1967). During her life she published several books and edited her own magazine. Seydell was also an active participant in many women's organizations in both the United States and Belgium. The collection contains correspondence, both personal and professional, writings, personal and family records, memorabilia, photographs, and source material used for her writings. Of particular interest is a March 15, 1945, letter regarding the Leo Frank case (see Frank, Leo MSS 674). See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Note: Restrictions to access and reproduction may apply.

Singer, Sol. (MSS 909). Sol Singer collection of Philatelic Judaica, 1902-2008; 60.5 linear ft. (131 boxes).

The Sol Singer collection includes stamps that were collected by Atlanta businessman Sol Singer including those issued by the state of Israel as well as stamps featuring Jewish themes issued all over the world. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Uhry, Alfred. (MSS 833) Collection; 12 linear ft. (12 boxes).

Playwright Alfred Uhry (1936- ) was raised in Atlanta, Georgia. The collection holds notebooks, drafts of scripts and television screenplays, including Driving Miss Daisy, Last Night of Ballyhoo, and Parade, which was a musical based on the Leo Frank case (see Frank, Leo MSS 674). Additionally, there are photographs, printed material, and a videotape of the documentary, “Southern Roots, Southern Stories: Alfred Uhry.” See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Watson, Thomas E. (MSS 121) Collection, 1906-1923; 5 linear ft. (2 boxes).

Thomas Edward Watson (1856-1922), lawyer, editor, politician, was born on his grandfather's plantation near Thomson, Georgia, in Columbia, later renamed McDuffie, County. He enrolled at Mercer University, Macon, Georgia, in 1872, but had to drop out after two years because of lack of funds. Watson taught school and studied law and in October 1875, he was admitted to the Georgia Bar. Watson was elected to the Georgia House of Representatives from McDuffie County in 1882, serving for a year. In 1890 he was elected to Congress on the Farmer's Alliance Platform. During this tenure he supported advanced labor legislation. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Weinstein, Alfred Abraham. (MSS 564). Papers, 1940-1976; 2.25 linear ft. (5 boxes, 4 oversized papers, 10 oversized bound volumes, 1 oral history).

Weinstein (1908-1964) was a physician, author, and sculptor who moved to Atlanta in 1938. During his service in the U.S. Army he spent three and one half years as a POW in Japan. His collection includes materials related to professional, civic, and religious organizations in Atlanta. His experiences as a P.O.W. were the basis for his book, Barbed-Wire Surgeon (1948). A series of articles first published in the Atlanta Journal (1963) were subsequently published as As I Saw Russia (1963). Weinstein was a member of many professional, religious, and civic organizations including B'nai B'rith. As a sculptor, he exhibited his work at the Fogg Art Museum at Harvard and the Atlanta High Museum of Art. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Winn, David Read Evans. (MSS 363). Papers, 1861-1863; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper).

David Read Evans Winn (1831-1863), physician and Confederate soldier, was born in Camden, South Carolina, and died at Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. He received a degree from Jefferson Medical College (1852), and practiced in Americus, Georgia, until 1861 when he enlisted in the Sumter Light Guards (4th Georgia Infantry). He was acting adjutant to thirteen Georgia companies, including many from the 4th Georgia (the ALbany Guards, the Baldwin Blues, and the Macon County Volunteers), and was promoted to lieutenant colonel before he was killed in action. The collection includes correspondence and typed copies, photograph, genealogical information, and military documents. Of particular interest are three letters in which Winn mentions Jewish Confederate soldiers (December 12, 1861, July 9, 1862, and July 17 1862). See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.

Wolf, Alfred. (MSS 747). Papers; 1.25 linear ft. (3 boxes).

Alfred Wolf (1889-1981) was born in Heilbronn, Germany to Julius (1870-[?] 1939) and Cecile Held Wolf (1876-[?] 1937). Wolf's Jewish name was Menachem Bar Joel Malivi. He served in the Signal Corps of the Royal Bavarian Army (1916-1918_. Afterwards, he enrolled in the School for Textile Technology in Reutlinger and upon graduation was certified as a textile engineer. He obtained his Ph.D. (1922) from the University of Frankfurt in economics and political science. Because he was German, Wolf was interred in camps in France (1939-1940). Wolf served as a meber of the 313 Compagnie des Prestataires (1940). Wolf emigrated to New York (1941), worked in the textile industry there, and later settled in Atlanta (1945-retirement). The Alfred Wolf papers consist of his autobiography "Alfred & Story" which is in the form of both manuscript carbon and audiocassette recordings. The autobiography, written to pass down family history, describes his life growing up and gies family history of other family members. Wolf describes his life growing up and gives family history of other family members. Wolf describes his experiences as a soldier in World War I, as a student, and his working career in the textile industry in Europe and America. He also discusses his marriages to Trudl Victor and Lillian Greta Lazarus, as well as other aspects of his life and thoughts. The collection also includes a photograph of Wolf. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.