Research Guides: HIST 412W: Music and Politics (1780-2023): Secondary Sources

Secondary Source Databases

The following are important databases for secondary sources.

Academic Search Complete
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
America: History and Life
Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.
Historical Abstracts
Access scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in modern world history (1450 to present) excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers sources published from 1955 to present.
JSTOR
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Political Science Complete
Contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). This is the major index for political science.
Project MUSE
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (A&I)
Official digital archive of the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. Search citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present day, and access full text dissertations.

Best Music Subject Periodical Databases

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Access resources for scholarly music research. Includes a continuously-updated bibliography of music literature with broad international coverage.
Music Index
Index to periodical articles on music. Coverage is international in scope and includes music of all periods and genres, musical instruments, composers, performers, the music industry, and other music-related topics.
Music Periodicals Database (formerly IIMP)
Provides indexing and abstracts for many international music periodicals from a variety of countries. Some of the indexed journals are available in full-text.