Librarian
Finding Academic Articles in Databases
Find relevant academic, peer-reviewed articles in our databases. Here are some of the most relevant databases (see our databases page for a full list):
Databases by Subject
- Scopus (SciVerse Scopus) This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
- Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new windowAccess multidisciplinary bibliographic databases from around the world. Produced by NCIS South Africa, materials focus on Africa and African studies.
- Africa Bibliography This link opens in a new windowGuide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984. Emphasis on English language materials.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowContains bibliographic indexes pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Particular emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowAccess the Hispanic American Periodicals Index for journal article citations about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
- RedalycFull text database of Latin American journals from the Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico
- SciELOSciELO is a cooperative development that is developing full-text libraries of journals in Latin America and the Caribbean. Each library is developed separately by country or theme. While most of the SciElo libraries focus on science journals, they also include journals with a social science theme.
Find relevant academic, peer-reviewed articles in our databases. Here are some of the most relevant databases (see our databases page for a full list):
- CAB Direct This link opens in a new window
Produced by CABI, this search includes CAB Abstracts and Global Health databases. CAB Abstracts is for agriculture, veterinary science, food science, environmental science, and nutrition. Global Health covers international public health with publications in various languages and publication types, including grey literature, journals, and conferences.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess material related to environmental studies. Major fields include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, geography, and more.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess a range of material related to business. Includes peer-reviewed journals, financial data, monographs, case studies and more.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of economics-related literature. Includes indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, and covers both economic theory and application.
- Global Health This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS), tropical and parasitic diseases, human nutrition, community and public health, and medicinal and poisonous plants.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
- Global Index MedicusAccess "biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries." Produced by the World Health Organization. Note: Use Articles+ to find full text.
- Public Affairs Information Service Index (PAIS) This link opens in a new windowIndexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences from 1915 onward.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1952-present.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowCovers journal articles, edited books, and essays in anthropology, archeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Find Books
- Library Search (Emory's Library Catalog)Library Search is the online catalog that connects all of the Emory Libraries. Use the catalog to search for books, videos, and other resources.
- WorldCatThis global catalog of more than 1 billion items contains descriptions of books, archives, manuscript collections, digital and audio-visual materials in libraries and other repositories around the world. Using Worldcat's ADVANCED SEARCH option you can limit your search by format, date, publication location, and many other parameters.
Not Available at Emory? Use Interlibrary Loan
Submit a request via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to
- borrow books and more from other libraries
- get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own
Enter as much citation information as you have, and submit your request. You will be notified when your materials arrive. (Articles typically arrive within a business day or two. Books, videos, and other materials that must be mailed may take up to two weeks.)