Books about Vocal Health
The Performer's Voice by
The Performer's Voice, Second Edition presents a comprehensive approach to the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of voice disorders as well as up-to-date voice care and injury prevention information--specifically related to actors, singers, and other voice professionals. This second edition is completely updated with six new chapters and contributions from leading voice professionals.
ISBN: 9781597565431Publication Date: 2013-12-15
Vocal Health and Pedagogy by
The new edition of this classic text has now been revised and expanded (with completely new chapters on children's singing, the aging voice, vocal health strategies for choral music educators, and vocal pedagogy and choral singing) to the extent that the work is now necessarily and logically divided into two volumes: Vocal Health and Pedagogy Volume I: Science and Assessment, and Volume II: Advanced Assessment and Practice. This first volume focuses on the science behind the many common problems that afflict voice users and enables understanding of the medical approach to problem analysis. World-renowned clinicians and scientists, under the general authorship and editorship of Professor Sataloff, clearly present anatomical, physiological and neurological considerations, as well as covering critical issues relating to patient history, laryngeal function, the physical examination and historical perspectives of vocal pedagogy. The book serves those undertaking vocal pedagogy courses in schools of music, as well as speech and language pathology. Additionally, it represents a valuable resource for professional and amateur performers and their teachers.
ISBN: 9781597568609Publication Date: 2017-11-15
The Singer's Guide to Complete Health by
Anthony Jahn, MD, internationally-acclaimed laryngologist and medical director of the Metropolitan Opera in New York, offers an accessible guidebook on a wide range of health and disorders that affect the voice. A vital tool for singers, voice instructors, and choral directors, The Singer'sGuide to Complete Health empowers vocal performers to take charge of their own minds and bodies, providing advice about the various health disorders that affect professional well-being as well as remedies to the most important and common health problems that singers face in their careers.Jahn has invited a diverse group of health care specialists and music professionals to share their expertise and tips with singers and instructions. The chapters cover a broad spectrum of topics, including not only vocal issues, but also psychological well-being, age-related changes, diet, andexercise, accompanied by easy-to-follow illustrations, diagrams and charts. Each chapter provides a clear explanation of an aspect of health of practical relevance to vocalists, as well as detailed descriptions of the most troublesome disorders for singers. The book enables singers to make informeddecisions about their own health, and gives guidance on seeking appropriate professional help and self-remedies. It includes numerous suggestions on ways to prevent illness and maintain a healthy vocal lifestyle, not only with traditional methods such as diet, exercise, and Alexander technique, butalso holistic approaches such as meditation, yoga, tai chi, acupuncture, and Chinese herbs.A comprehensive blend of professional voice expertise and medical science, The Singer's Guide to Complete Health is an essential addition to bookshelves and medicine cabinets of all professional and aspiring singers and instructors.
Call Number: MT821 .S57 2013ISBN: 9780199971831Publication Date: 2013-07-03
The Owner's Manual to the Voice by
Singers must equip themselves with enough knowledge to clearly convey specific sensations and difficulties with their instrument. Understanding of potential dangers and disorders, familiarity with a variety of medical procedures, and comprehension in various facets of diagnosis and treatmentsempower singers to "own," just like other musicians, their instrument. The Owner's Manual to the Voice provides singers with the knowledge necessary to communicate effectively and in intelligent terms about their instrument, especially when conversing with medical professionals.Beginning with an overview of the vocal anatomy, lead author Rachel Gates, and co-authors L. Arrick Forest, M.D. and Kerri Obert, M.A., C.C.C/S.L.P, proceed through detailed discussions of caring for the voice and common causes of vocal changes and problems before guiding the reader through theprocess of choosing, talking to, and working with an ENT. In so doing, they give insights that any professional voice user - whether singer, actor, broadcaster, politician, teacher, preacher, lawyer, salesperson or telemarketer - will find helpful if not essential.
Call Number: MT821 .G38 2013ISBN: 0199964661Publication Date: 2013-08-20
The Biology of Musical Performance and Performance-Related Injury by
Music performance requires a high degree of physical skill, yet until recently, musical training has paid little attention to the considerable demands made on the mind and body. The Biology of Musical Performance and Performance-Related Injury presents singers and instrumentalists with accurate information on the physical processes that underlie their craft. The book provides a concise overview of the biological principles associated with performance technique while assuming no prior scientific knowledge, making it accessible to both musicians and to health professionals who treat performance-related medical conditions.Author Alan H. D. Watson explains the concepts and techniques of music performance, discussing themes such as posture and the back; movements of the arm and hand and associated problems; breathing in singers and wind players; the embouchure and respiratory tract in wind playing; the larynx and vocal tract in singers; the brain and its role in skill acquisition and aural processing; and stress and its management. Watson offers performers and teachers the tools they need to create a rational approach to the development and communication of technique. He also provides insight into the origins of performance-related injury, helping to reduce the risk of such problems by encouraging a technique that is sustainable in the long term. Each chapter includes several illustrations and an extensive bibliography for further reading. To support the text, a CD-Rom is included, featuring original diagrams that clearly illustrate the relevant aspects of body structure and function, explaining and illuminating key concepts through an extensive set of animations, sound files, and videos.
Call Number: ML3820 .W27 2009ISBN: 9780810863583Publication Date: 2009-01-26
The Human Nature of the Singing Voice by
Human beings have a deeply ingrained desire to sing, and the human voice has inspired composers to write some of their most beautiful music. But what is 'the true singing voice'? Why do some voices 'work' while others do not? How do we 'discover' our singing voice, and how can singing teachers most effectively train their pupils' voices when it seems such a demanding individual and personal matter? Peter Harrison starts from the holistic principle that human beings are 'designed' to sing and believes that through our voices we are able to communicate our collective as well as our individual humanity. In "The Human Nature of the Singing Voice" he offers a fresh and lively insight to the understanding of the voice with which we were born for those who seek a comprehensive and sustainable basis for their work. In this major new exploration the author interrelates all aspects of singing, including breathing, emotional expression, the articulation of words and musical interpretation. He also outlines what can be expected of those responsible for teaching singers and of those eager to learn. Invaluable to teachers and singers, and of more than passing interest to all those who work with singers and care for their voices, "The Human Nature of the Singing Voice" provides thought provoking ideas on how we can learn to liberate and enjoy our voice whilst offering practical advice for the proper maintenance of the voice in our daily life and professional work.
Call Number: MT820 .H32 2006ISBN: 1903765544Publication Date: 2006-10-19
