Psychology Librarian
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
404-712-2833
Tips for Accessing Library Resources
Emory Libraries' users need to provide a login and password to access databases, ejournals, and ebooks. Here are some tips for accessing library resources.
Find Research Articles
Try these databases first:
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowLinks to peer reviewed scholarly articles in psychology, including empirical studies, literature reviews, and other article types.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCovers life sciences and biomedical topics, which includes studies on animals and humans.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.
E-book: The Student Survival Guide for Research Methods in Psychology
The Student Survival Guide for Research Methods in Psychology by
The Student Survival Guide for Research Methods in Psychology is designed to support students enrolled in undergraduate or graduate level research methods courses by providing them with the tools they need to succeed. It goes beyond course material to help students engage more fully with research methods content. This survival guide presents clear step-by-step instructions that will help students hone the basic skills to succeed and thrive in their research methods classes and to navigate common pitfalls. The book covers core practical skills, like formatting and writing at an APA standard, understanding research literature (particularly academic journals), using SPSS, and broader skills like how to communicate with your professor, time management, and teamwork skills. It is a highly effective primer text for all psychology students undertaking research methods courses and will also be particularly helpful for students who are currently undertaking these modules and don't feel fully prepared for them.
Call Number: E-book: Select book cover or hyperlinked title to accessISBN: 9781000440379Publication Date: 2021-09-27
Additional Resources for Animal Studies
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
- Animal Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals relevant to animal behavior. Subjects include neurophysiology, behavioral ecology, genetics, applied ethology, and more. Access summaries field and laboratory inquiries.
PsycINFO Alerts
How to Set Up Search Alerts in PsycINFO
1.Open the PsycINFO database.
2.On the main search page, go to the upper right corner and select Sign in.
3.On the left side of the page, select Create a New Account.
4.Fill out the information and select, Save Changes.
5.You will be directed back to the search page. Conduct a PsycINFO search using the search terms that you want to use for your alert.
6.On the Search Results listing page, select the option at the top right corner of the results, Share.
7.Under Create an alert, select E-mail Alert.
8.Beside E-mail to, type in your email address.
9.Adjust the General Settings for Frequency, Results format, and Articles published within the last…
10.Select the Save Alert button.