Skip to main content

French 313: French Culture and Civilization

Humanities Databases and Resources

MLA International Bibliography

Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other material

Klapp-Online

A comprehensive and authoritative bibliography of all periods of French literature from medieval through contemporary. It contains a database covering the years from 1991 to the present. The 1956-1990 years have been retrodigitized and made accessible in the form of a searchable PDF file. NOTE: this is just a bibliographic database, so no full-text content. With that said, you can check ejournals or Google Scholar to see if we have the content.

 

Humanities Abstracts

A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.

Primary Documents

Gallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En ligne depuis 1997, elle s’enrichit chaque semaine de milliers de nouveautés et offre aujourd’hui accès à plusieurs millions de documents.

ARTFL Project

The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) based at the University of Chicago compiles texts of classic works of French literature, non-fiction prose and technical writing in such subjects as biology, history, economics, philosophy and literary criticism. Includes texts from medieval and Renaissance time periods up to the 20th century.  Also includes un dictionnaire "vivant" de la langue francaise.
 
Europeana: Europe's Digital Library
Direct access to several million digital objects: film,photos, paintings, sound recordings, maps, manuscripts, books,newspapers and archival papers.Selected from already digitized resources available in Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. French and German cultural institutions are particularly well-represented.