French 313: French Culture and Civilization

Bibliographie Nationale de la Litterature Francaise
More than 150,000 detailed notices from 1998 to the present day have been published, including 17,000 summaries, and 72,000 articles based on analyses of collected works (see the ‘commentary’ section of notices in particular). Use Google Scholar or Articles + to find journal content, or the Library Catalog for books.

• Cairn

  • Contains French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities. This database represents a broad collaboration between several European publishing houses (Belin, De Boeck, La Decouverte and Eres). French Studies bouquet, covers topics in General Interest, History, Literature, and Philosophy, and includes such publishers as PUF, Belin, Vrin, La Découverte, and Les Belles Lettres. Several journals of interest are Revue française d'histoire des idées politiques, Dix-septième siècle, Le Français aujourd'hui, and Médiévales.

• MLA International Bibliography

  • Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other material.

• Klapp-Online 

  • A comprehensive and authoritative bibliography of all periods of French literature from medieval through contemporary. It contains a database covering the years from 1991 to the present. The 1956-1990 years have been retrodigitized and made accessible in the form of a searchable PDF file. NOTE: this is just a bibliographic database, so no full-text content. With that said, you can check ejournals or Google Scholar to see if we have the content.

• ArtBibliographies Modern

  • This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM.

• FIAF Film Periodicals Index

  • In-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.Significant foreign language coverage.

• Humanities Abstracts

  • A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines