Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Navigating Archives Topic Guide

Guide to finding and using archives beyond Emory.

Guide Description: Europe

Resources available for finding archives and navigating their collections vary widely by international context and archive type.

This guide suggests various print and digital research tools and guides to official archives and personal papers. It includes guides that contain a significant level of detail about collections, and as a rule, does not list directories of archives (for which there are many) that contain only addresses and brief summaries.

Its goal it to allow researchers working in international archives in various fields a place to begin. 

Multi-national

 

 

 

Access point to an ever growing network of European archives.

 

 

 

List of 'special' libraries organized by country. See Europe A-M, and Europe, N-Z

 

 

 

 

Discussion boards that often include tips on working in various national contexts.

European Union

 

 

 

Makes accessible in a central location the archival holdings of the European Union Institutions, and private papers of key European politicians, EU officials, etc. 

Belgium

Czech Republic

Do you know of any portals for searching government or academic archives in the Czech Republic? If yes, let us know by sending an e-mail to archives.research.program@emory.edu.

France

Germany

Oudated but useful guide to conducting research in German archives. Available in English and German.

 

Heidi Madden of Duke University Libraries has prepared a useful guide to working in German archives. See her research guide or download the document below.

Great Britain

 

 

 

 

Archives Hub http://www.archiveshub.ac.uk/ contains records of a majority of archives held within UK universities.

 

 

 

 

The National Archives Discovery Service http://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/ contains records from governmental and land records repositories. Pulls from the NRA, ARCHON, A2A, and MDR. 

Additional national, regional and thematic based networks include: 

Italy

Ireland

The Netherlands

Poland

Do you know of any portals for searching government or academic archives in the Poland? If yes, let us know by sending an e-mail to archives.research.program@emory.edu.

Spain

Censo-Guía de Archivos

 

Ukraine

Do you know of any portals for searching government or academic archives in the Ukraine? If yes, let us know by sending an e-mail to archives.research.program@emory.edu.