Research Guides: Ancient History Research Guide: Finding Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources/Article Databases

ACLS Humanities E-Book
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books of high quality in the humanities. It is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Annee Philologique
An international bibliography that contains citations for Greek and Roman studies. The database covers all aspects of classical languages, literatures, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, mythology, science, numismatics, and other subjects. Its scope is the period from 2000 BC to 800 AD.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Subjects include: Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater.
To search this database, select Search In: Web of Science Core Collection, and then under Editions you can select the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
DIOTIMA: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
Serves as an interdisciplinary resource for research on women and gender in ancient Mediterranean world. Includes materials for course instructors, a searchable bibliography, and a collection of articles, reviews, images, and more.
An archival copy of the old Diotima can be accessed at https://web.archive.org/web/20190628224208/http://www.stoa.org/diotima/
DYABOLA: A Database of the Ancient World
Indexes books, journals, collected essays, and book reviews. This database reproduces the subject catalog of the Deutsches Archaologisches Institut and is equivalent to the annual Archaoligische Bibliographie (Woodruff Library Z5132 .A65). It covers Greek, Roman, Cretan-Mycenean, Etruscan, Egyptian, and early Christian and Byzantine history, art, culture, and religion. To enter the database, please check the "with IP acess" box and then click the start button.
JSTOR
JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Project MUSE
Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Databases for Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (A&I)
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Please note that some dissertations are unavailable as full-text due to author restrictions.

University of Georgia Electronic Theses and Dissertations (1991-present)
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Please note that some dissertations are unavailable as full-text due to author restrictions.

Other Resources for Dissertations

British Library EThOS Beta
"EThOS aims to provide: a) A national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions and b) Free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers to further their own research. Anyone can use EThOS for their research. You can access it from anywhere in the world, for free. It’s an openly accessible website." - British Library
DART-Europe - E-Theses Portal
"The DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs), and they participate in advocacy to influence future European e-theses developments." - DART-Europe
Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
Coverage of non-U.S. dissertations in DAI (Proquest) is sketchy, and it can be difficult to identify and obtain copies of foreign dissertations. However, the Center for Research Libraries actively collects foreign dissertations and provides them to member institutions through interlibrary loan.

more... less...

Unfortunately, their collection is not completely indexed in the Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database, so if you need a foreign dissertation that isn't listed there, it's well worth making an interlibrary loan request for it anyway. Please allow extra time -- if the dissertation you need is already at CRL, it will come quickly, but if they need to purchase it, it may take six months to a year.