Philosophy Graduate Student Portfolio Papers Guide

Editions

Many editions of Souls are available with no major differences between them (in terms of the main text). However, the follow editions are of special note:

• Du Bois, W.E.B. The Souls of Black Folk: Essays and Sketches. University of Massachusetts Press, 2018.
  • Includes Souls along with a host of associated writings, including relevant letters and reviews.
• Gates, Henry Louis, Jr., editor.The Oxford W. E. B. Du Bois. 19 vols. Oxford University Press, 2007.
  • ​The collected works of Du Bois; each volume includes an introductory essay. Souls is its own volume.
• Sundquist, Eric J., editor. The Oxford W.E.B. Du Bois Reader. Oxford University Press, 1996.
  • Includes the entirety of Souls along with other major pieces Du Bois published across his career from the 1890s to the early 1960s.

Resources:

Online Resources:

• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry
• Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry​
• W.E.B. Du Bois.org
  • General information and resource on all things Du Bois.
  • Also includes links to places to read a number of Du Bois's works online.
• Library of Congress - W.E.B. Du Bois
  • Has a number of collections about or related to Du Bois and his times.
• W.E.B. Du Bois Papers
  • Collection of an extremely large number of written works by Du Bois, including correspondence, speeches, articles, novels, plays, and more.

​Bibliographies:​

• Oxford Bibliographies - W.E.B. Du Bois
  • Note: written analyzing Du Bois as a sociologist, and the selections accordingly lean in that direction.

Secondary Literature:

Items in Bold are available via online access from Emory's collections.

• ​Bell, Bernard W., Emily Grosholz, and James B. Stewart, eds. 1996. W. E. B. Du Bois on race and culture: Philosophy, politics, and poetics. New York: Routledge.
  • Collection of a number of essays on various aspects of Du Bois's thoughts regarding race and its socially-constructed character.
• Bruce, Dickson D., Jr. "W. E. B. Du Bois and the Idea of Double Consciousness," American Literature, vol. 64, no. 2, 1992, pp. 299–309.
  • ​Examines Du Bois's conception of double consciousness in more detail, focusing especially on the term's history.
• Moore, T. Owens. "A Fanonian perspective on double consciousness" Journal of Black Studies, vol. 35, 2005, pp. 751–762.
  • Reads Du Bois's double consciousness in light of Fanon's account in Black Skin, White Masks of the lived experience of the black man; argues for a unification of these two "sides" of consciousness.
• Rabaka, Reiland. 2003. W. E. B. Du Bois’s evolving Africana philosophy of education. Journal of Black Studies 33:399–449.
  • Examines Du Bois's thoughts on education, especially the "talented tenth"; argues Du Bois later modified this conception to be more inclusive of various economic strata.

Editions:

James's Pragmatism can be found in a number of collections of James's work. For considerations of its place in James's corpus, one should consult the complete works:

• James, William. The Works of William James. 17 vols. Edited by Frederick H. Burkhardt, Fredson Bowers, and Ignas K. Skrupskelis. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1975–1988.

It may also be helpful to consult the complete collection of James's correspondence:

• James, William. The Correspondence of William James. 12 vols. Edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and M. Elizabeth Berkeley. Charlottesville, VA, and London: University of Virginia Press, 1992–2004.

Online Resources:

• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry
• Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry
• Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry​
• Pragmatism Cybrary
  • Contains a number of resources about Pragmatism, both its roots and more contemporary figures.
• William James
  • A useful page including links to James's works, selected secondary literature, and general information.

​Bibliographies:​

• Oxford Bibliographies - William James
• Perry - Annotated Bibliography
  • An annotated bibliography of James's works by one of his students

Secondary Literature:

Items in Bold are available via online access from Emory's collections.

• Cooper, Wesley. The Unity of William James’s Thought. Vanderbilt University Press, 2002.
  • ​Argues, pace Gale's 1999 work, that one can find a unified, systematic philosophy in James's writing.
• Cormier, Harvey. The Truth Is What Works: William James, Pragmatism, and the Seed of Death. Lanham, MD: Rowman and Littlefield, 2001.
  • Examines the utilitarian and antirealist aspects of James's account of truth.
• Cotkin, George. William James: Public Philosopher. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1990.
  • Focuses on James's career as a public figure and intellectual.
• Gale, Richard M. The Divided Self of William James. Cambridge University Press, 1999.
  • An important work of (fairly) recent scholarship that offers an interpretation of James's philosophy as a whole. Argues, controversially, that James's philosophy contains irreconcilable and inconsistent philosophical positions.
• Perry, Ralph Barton. The Thought and Character of William James. 2 vols. Little, Brown, 1935.
  • ​One of James's students, this work remains an important work of secondary literature, although it shows some noticeable biases.
• Putnam, Ruth Anna, ed. The Cambridge Companion to William James. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1997.
  • A collection of essays on major themes and topics in James's work. Useful as an introduction and overview.

Editions:

Experience and Nature can also be found in Dewey's collected works, viewable online through the link below.

• Dewey, John. The Collected Works of John Dewey, 1882-1953. InteLex, 2003.
  • Experience and Nature is in volume 1 of the Later Works.

Online Resources:

• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry - Dewey's Moral Philosophy
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry - Dewey's Political Philosophy
• Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry
• Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry​
• Center for Dewey Studies
  • The physical center, at Southern Illinois University Carbondale, contains a number of materials related to Dewey. In addition, its website includes a number of resources and papers related to Dewey and his work.
• Dewey Discussion List
  • A forum for discussion of Dewey's philosophy. Includes an archive of past posts.

​Bibliographies:​

• Oxford Bibliographies - Pragmatism

Secondary Literature:

Items in Bold are available via online access from Emory's collections.

• Garrison, James W. Dewey and Eros: Wisdom and Desire in the Art of Teaching. Information Age, 2010.
  • Applies Dewey's philosophy of education to the topics of democracy and aesthetics in education.
• Glaude, Eddie S. In a Shade of Blue: Pragmatism and the Politics of Black America. University of Chicago Press, 2007.
  • Argues that Dewey's thought can help address some of the problems posed by racism in the United States.
• Hildebrand, David L. Beyond Realism and Anti-Realism: John Dewey and the Neo-Pragmatists. Vanderbilt University Press, 2003.
  • Critiques how Neo-Pragmatists, such as Putnam and Rorty, have taken up Dewey in their work.
• Putnam, Hilary. Renewing Philosophy. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1992.
  • A famous critique of Dewey, especially on the matter of individuality. See also Realism with a Human Face and Words and Life for other readings of Dewey Putnam offers.
• Schilpp, Paul Arthur, and Lewis Edwin Hahn, editors. The Philosophy of John Dewey. Open Court, 1998.
  • Volumes 1 contains a collection of essays from Dewey's peers and contemporaries about Dewey and his thought.
• West, Cornel. Keeping Faith: Philosophy and Race in America. Routledge, 1993.
  • Another famous critique of Dewey. Argues Dewey's notion of "critical intelligence" is insufficient in the face of prevailing social and political problems.

Editions:

The original edition of this work is:

• Fanon, Frantz. Peau Noire, Masques Blancs. Editions Du Seuil, 1952.

Online Resources:

• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry
• Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry
• Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry​

Secondary Literature:

Items in Bold are available via online access from Emory's collections.

• Coulthard, Glen, 2014. Red Skin, White Masks: Rejecting the Colonial Politics of Recognition. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press.
  • ​Takes up Fanon's work in the context of recognition and identity politics, especially concerning indigenous resistance movements.
• Gibson, Nigel C. ed.  Rethinking Fanon: The Continuing Dialogue.  Amherst, NY: Humanity Books, 1999.
  • A collection of essays examining Fanon's legacy and his continuing influence.
• Gordon, Lewis R. What Fanon Said : a Philosophical Introduction to His Life and Thought. Fordham University Press, 2015.
  • A useful introduction and general overview of Fanon's thought.
• Hoppe, Elizabeth A. and Tracey Nicholls, eds.  Fanon and the Decolonization of Philosophy.  Lanham, MD: Lexington Books, 2010.
  • A (more recent) collection of essays on a variety of topics in Fanon's thought, from his psychology to racial violence to decolonization.
• Idahosa, P. L. E. The Populist Dimension to African Political Thought: Critical Essays in Reconstruction and Retrieval. Trenton, NJ: Africa World Press, 2004.
  • Places Fanon in relation to his historical context, i.e. the post-independence African state, and thinkers like Nyerere and Cabral.
• Macey, David. Frantz Fanon: A Life. London: Granta, 2000.
  • Less of a work of philosophy and more biographical/historical, but gives a helpful account of Fanon's life and legacy.
• McCulloch, Jock. Black Soul, White Artifact. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1983.
  • Focuses on the connection between Fanon's psychology and his political theory.

Online Resources:

• Gloria Anzaldúa Papers
  • Archive of Anzaldúa's papers, correspondence, interviews, artwork, and more.
  • Note: few of the above materials are digitized; they are mostly housed at the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.
    • More items related to Anzaldúa can be found in the UC Santa Cruz Collection.
• Society for the Study of Gloria Anzaldúa

​Bibliographies:​

• Oxford Bibliographies - Gloria Anzaldúa

Secondary Literature:

Items in Bold are available via online access from Emory's collections.

• ​Alarcón, Norma. “The Theoretical Subject(s) of This Bridge Called My Back and Anglo-American Feminism.” Criticism in the Borderlands: Studies in Chicano Literature, edited by Héctor Calderón and José David Saldívar, Duke University Press, 1991, pp. 28–42.​
  • More about This Bridge Called My Back than Borderlands/La Frontera, this paper analyzes the conception of subjectivity operative in that work in contrast to more Anglo- and Euro-centric conceptions.
• Alcoff, Linda Martín. “The Unassimilated Theorist.” PMLA, vol. 121, no. 1, 2006, 255–259.
  • Addresses the simultaneous admiration and exclusion/marginalization of Anzaldúa and her work within the academy.
• Barnard, Ian. “Gloria Anzaldúa’s Queer Mestisaje.” MELUS vol. 22, no. 1, 1997, 35–53.
  • Situates Borderlands/La Frontera within discourses about queerness and queer identity.
• Browdy de Hernández, Jennifer. “On Home Ground: Politics, Location, and the Construction of Identity in Four American Women’s Autobiographies.” MELUS, vol. 22, no. 4, 1997, pp. 21–38.
  • Examines the autobiographical character of Borderlands/La Frontera and argues it challenges Eurocentric notions of "autobiography".
• Gloria Chicanas
  • An online "web altar" where numerous contributors celebrate Anzaldúa and her work.
• Keating, AnaLouise, editor. Entre Mundos/Among Worlds: New Perspectives on Gloria E. Anzaldúa. Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.
  • One of the few books focusing specifically on Anzaldúa; includes everything from remembrances to scholarly essays.
• Keating, AnaLouise, and Gloria González López. Bridging: How Gloria Anzaldúa’s Life and Work Transformed Our Own. University of Texas Press, 2011.
  • Carries on Anzaldúa's thought and work through describing its effect on the authors; also reflects on future directions for Anzaldúan thought.
• Moraga, Cherríe, and Gloria Anzaldúa, editors. This Bridge Called My Back: Writings by Radical Women of Color. Persephone, 1981.
  • ​A highly-influential anthology that presents a variety of works on issues of feminism, racism, homophobia, and classism; Anzaldúa contributed a few pieces in addition to editing the volume.

Editions:

As a fairly recent text, only the above edition of Gender Trouble (plus its original 1990 edition) is available. Butler's two subsequent books, Bodies that Matter and Excitable Speech elaborate further on Butler's conception of gender performativity.

• Butler, Judith. Bodies that Matter: On the Discursive Limits of “Sex.” London: Routledge, 1993.
• Butler, Judith. Excitable Speech: A Politics of the Performative. New York: Routledge, 1997.

Online Resources:

• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
  • The SEP does not have an entry specifically on Butler's work as of this writing. The following entries do, however, contain substantial sections on Butler's work.
  • Butler & Trans* Issues
  • Butler & Sex, Gender, and Normativity
  • Butler & Performativity
• Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Entry
• Judith Butler's Faculty Page

Secondary Literature:

Items in Bold are available via online access from Emory's collections.

• Allen, Amy. "Power Trouble: Performativity as Critical Theory." Constellations, vol. 5, no. 4, 1998, pp. 456-471.
  • ​Considers Butler's notion of performativity in the context of power and its implications for critical social theory.
• Benhabib, Seyla. Feminist Contentions: a Philosophical Exchange. Routledge, 1995.
  • Includes two chapters in which Butler and Benhabib discuss issues of sex and gender in relation to subjectivity and identity. Also includes a chapter from Nancy Fraser ("False Antitheses") that respondes to both Benhabib and Butler.
• ​Cameron, Deborah. "Performing Gender Identity: Young Men’s Talk and the Construction of Heterosexual Masculinity." Language and Masculinity. Edited by Sally Johnson and Ulrike Hanna Meinhof, Blackwell, 1997, pp. 47-64.​
  • Examines the role of language in Butler's notion of performativity; does so through an analysis of a transcript of a group of young men talking.
• Kulick, Don. "Gay and Lesbian Language." Annual Review of Anthropology, vol. 29, 2000, pp. 243–285.
  • Using Butler and Derrida, examines the importance of iterability for performativity in the context of gay and lesbian discourse.
• Lei, Joy L. "(Un)Necessary Toughness? Those 'Loud Black Girls' and those 'Quiet Asian Boys'." Anthropology and Education Quarterly, vol. 34, no. 2, 2003, pp. 158–181.
  • Examines Butler's performativity in the context of young African American women and young Asian American men. 
• Nussbaum, Martha. "The Professor of Parody: The Hip Defeatism of Judith Butler." The New Republic, vol. 220, no. 8, 1999, 37-45.
  • A scathing review of U.S. Feminism as influenced by "French postmodernist thought"; Nussbaum takes Butler as representative of this intellectual trend. 
• Salih, Sara. Judith Butler. Routledge, 2002.
  • A general overview and introduction to major themes and ideas in Butler's work (at least of pre-2002 work).
• Schep, Dennis. "The Limits of Performativity: A Critique of Hegemony in Gender Theory." Hypatia, vol. 27, no. 4, 2012, pp. 864–880.
  • ​A critique of Butler's conception of performativity and gender. Argues that Butler's conception has, perhaps ironically, silenced certain marginalized voices.
• Webster, Fiona "The Politics of Sex and Gender: Benhabib and Butler Debate Subjectivity." Hypatia, vol. 15, no. 1, 2000, pp.1-22.
  • Summarizes and analyzes the debate between Butler and Benhabib on subjectivity and identity. Argues there is a fundamental misunderstanding between the two on the subject of agency and political representation.