Skip to main content

Philosophy Graduate Student Portfolio Papers Guide

Guide for portfolio papers

Introduction

This guide is meant to assist graduate students in philosophy with writing portfolio papers.

  • The "Research Tips" pages contain general hints and tips to quickly getting an introduction to a field with which you may not be familiar, including identifying major figures and terms, finding scholarly conversations, and locating major points of scholarly debate.
  • "Databases and Resources" contains recommended databases to search for philosophical articles and books. It also contains miscellaneous resources that may be more specialized (such as original language resources).
  • Pages on specific periods correspond to the divisions in the philosophy graduate student handbook. Each contains individual entries on all of the listed portfolio figures. Each entry lists information on standard translations, critical editions, and original language editions (where applicable). Entries also contain links to resources, including encyclopedia articles, bibliographies, and a sampling of contemporary scholarship on the figure in question.

If you have questions, suggestions, comments, or other feedback, please contact the guide author Kyle Tanaka or the philosophy subject librarian Chella Vaidyanathan

Portfolio Papers Tracker

There is an Excel Spreadsheet designed to help you keep track of what papers you have written and in what areas. See the link below:

Emory's Collections

Emory's library network is comprised of several libraries. The Robert W. Woodruff Library on the Druid Hills campus is the main library, but other libraries on this campus include the Pitts Theology Library, the Hugh F. MacMillan Law Library, the Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library, and MARBL, Emory's Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library. A number of items are housed offsite at the Library Service Center (LSC). Any of these items may be sent to Woodruff Library (or your desired destination library) by logging in to your account and submitting a request through discoverE.

In addition to its physical collection, Emory subscribes to a number of digital access services. More information on the databases, journals, and other digital materials in Emory's collection can be found here: http://guides.main.library.emory.edu/philosophy​

There is a complete list of journals available digitally through Emory can be found here.

If you are not able to find a resource in Emory's collection that you nevertheless would like access to, you have a few options. These include:

  1. Submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request. ILL can be reached here: https://libraries.emory.edu/using-the-library/interlibrary-services/index.html/index.html
  2. If you notice a resource is not a part of Emory's collection and would be a good addition, you can submit a purchase suggestion to the philosophy subject liaison, Chella Vaidyanathan, at chellammal.vaidyanathan@emory.edu