Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United Nations Research: U.N. Treaty Bodies & Reports

Questions for the Law Library?

General Questions? 
Please complete this Questions for the Law Library? form.

Faculty Research Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form. 

MacMillan Library Virtual Research Services (January 4, 2021 - May 14, 2021):

Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm

MacMillan Library Building Hours (January 19, 2021 - May 14, 2021)

Monday - Thursday: 8am - 9pm
Friday: 8am - 6:30pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Noon - 6pm

Virtual Reference Desk (Zoom Meeting ID: 930-5184-4067) 
Monday - Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 2pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 10am - 5pm 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

IT Virtual Help Desk
Email us at lawstudent-help@emory.edu and we'll reach out to you via Zoom.

Where to find Treaty Bodies and Reports?

UNBISNET: Catalogue with background documents, reports, and articles, most with full-text links, includes status reports (with reservations and implementing legislation) and legislative history documents.

UN Treaty Body Database: Search documents and reports related to human rights treaties, by treaty, country, symbol, date. Includes jurisprudence of treaty bodies, ratifications and status information,  and reservations to treaties. Full-text  of treaty documents, some in pdf.

Universal Human Rights Index: Country-specific information from the Treaty Bodies, Special Procedures, and Universal Periodic Review. Search for annotations by keywords, region or state, document type, treaty body, right, or affected persons.

Human Rights Council Special Rapporteurs: Special mandate resolutions and reports by country and theme.

Bayefsky.com: United Nations Human Rights Treaties: Treaty texts, includes amendments and protocols. Documents arranged in an extensive list of themes and subject matters, and by treaty article. Documents in the database include concluding observations, articles, jurisprudence, general comments and recommendations. However, the database has not been recently updated.

AccessUN (Databases @ Emory): Searchable index of UN documents, treaties, resolutions, periodicals. For template searching, find treaty citations using "treaty" as document number, or search the title of the treaty.

Subject Guide