Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United Nations Research: U.N. Documents & Resolutions

Questions for the Law Library?

General Questions? 
Please complete this Questions for the Law Library? form.

Faculty Research Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form. 

MacMillan Library Virtual Research Services (January 4, 2021 - May 14, 2021):

Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm

MacMillan Library Building Hours (January 19, 2021 - May 14, 2021)

Monday - Thursday: 8am - 9pm
Friday: 8am - 6:30pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Noon - 6pm

Virtual Reference Desk (Zoom Meeting ID: 930-5184-4067) 
Monday - Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 2pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 10am - 5pm 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

IT Virtual Help Desk
Email us at lawstudent-help@emory.edu and we'll reach out to you via Zoom.

Where to find U.N. Documents & Resolutions

Older United Nations Documents and Indexes are available in print at Woodruff Library.

UN Documents: Full-text pdf documents and resolutions (chronological by session); find by number or search by document symbol.

Security Council Resolutions and Documents Search by date or number

General Assembly Resolutions and Documents

Economic and Social Council Documentation

Human Rights Council Documents and Resolutions (Browse by session)

UN Official Document System (ODS): Full-text, searchable database of all official UN documentation since 1993 (except sales publications and treaties), Security Council resolutions since 1946

AccessUN: Searchable index of treaties, documents of  the six main bodies, resolutions, UN periodical articles, with some documents available in full-text (including resolutions)

UNBISNET: Catalogue of UN publications, documentation, and articles, includes an index of resolutions, voting records, citations to speeches, treaty status reports and background, and many documents in full-text

United Nations Legal Publications portal: Includes UN yearbooks (International Law Commission, UNCITRAL, UN Juridical) and the UN Treaty Series in downloadable PDF format

UN Audiovisual Research Library of International Law: Publications and Documents related to treaties and international law, Yearbooks, official documents, links to related sites

Repertoire of the Practice of the Security Council: Actions of the Security Council, arranged by 2-6 year period and by Chapter and Article of the UN Charter, includes citations to Resolutions and other documents

Analytical Guide to the Work of the International Law Commission:  Arranged by topic (succession of states, international criminal law) includes summaries and document links to treaties, reports, comments, and actions of the General Assembly. Also available in the Hein Online United Nations Law Collection.

Hein Online's United Nations Law Collection: Search the collection, search for a treaty, find international agreements by popular name, or enter a UNTS or LNTS citation. The United Nations Law Collection includes UN Yearbooks, the United Nations Treaty Series and other treaty publications, ICJ judgments, advisory opinions, and orders, historical committee reports and records, Reports of the Security Council, and Resolutions of the General Assembly.

UN iLibrary: Searchable database of United Nations books and periodicals in pdf format.

Subject Guide