Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Treaties and Conventions: Bilateral Treaties

Questions for the Law Library?

General Questions? 
Please complete this Questions for the Law Library? form.

Faculty Research Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form. 

MacMillan Library Virtual Research Services (January 4, 2021 - May 14, 2021):

Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm

MacMillan Library Building Hours (January 19, 2021 - May 14, 2021)

Monday - Thursday: 8am - 9pm
Friday: 8am - 6:30pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Noon - 6pm

Virtual Reference Desk (Zoom Meeting ID: 930-5184-4067) 
Monday - Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 2pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 10am - 5pm 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

IT Virtual Help Desk
Email us at lawstudent-help@emory.edu and we'll reach out to you via Zoom.

Bilateral & National Treaty Sources

Bilateral Treaties can be more difficult to find than multilateral treaties if the United States is not a party.

  • UN Treaty Series includes bilateral treaties deposited with the UN Secretary-General. UNTS volumes in pdf include English translations.  Search by treaty type and parties to find bilateral treaties.
  • World Treaty Index (1900-1980): Print in Reference at KZ173 .R64 1983.  Provides some citations and includes bilateral treaties.  Web version (1945-1999) allows search by country or organization, bilateral or multilateral, title keyword, or topic, and provides citation to source sets and dates.
  • WorldLII International Treaties Collection: Search in multiple treaty collections, plus links to some national and IGO treaty sources. Includes many bilateral treaties in the national collections from Australia, the United Kingdom, Canada, Ireland, and India.
  • Yale Avalon Project: Significant historical treaties, including text of many peace treaties.

National Treaty Sources

Find bilateral and non-U.S. treaties in the treaty sites for the parties.

Subject Guide