Recent Books by Emory Authors
Gone Home: Race and Roots Through Appalachia by Call Number: E185.93.K4 B76 2018ISBN: 9781469647036Publication Date: 2018
Whiter: Asian American Women on Skin Color and Colorism by Call Number: E184.A75 W45 2020ISBN: 9781479832477Publication Date: 2020
Searching For Books In Library Search
From Library Search:
- Type in your keywords
- When you get some results, use "Refine Search Results" on the left to narrow your search by author, item type, date and more.
Too many search results?
- Add additional terms to your search
- Limit your search by item type, exact phrase, and/or author/title/subject using Library Search's drop-down menus
- Use Library Search's "Limit Your Search" feature (in the left column)
Too few results?
- Remove some terms from your search
- Add synonyms using OR [in upper case] with parentheses - for example (women OR woman OR female)
Off-topic results?
- Try using the advanced search
- Ask a librarian for help
You can access your account to see what items you currently have checked out, when they are due, and to renew them. Click the "My Library Card" button in the upper-right corner of Library Search to log in, or click here.
Search Strategies
- Expand your search:
- Include synonyms and plural/singular forms of keywords. Separate synonyms by OR. Separate the synonyms from the rest of the words by using parentheses.
- Use truncation symbols (or wildcard symbols) to include variations of your search terms (e.g. scien$ will search for sciences, scientific, scientfically, etc.).
- Narrow your search:
- Combining different concepts/search terms with AND
- Use the limit functions of the database. These are often located on the left side of the results page, or look in the database's Help menu to discover the limit functions it offers. Possibilities include limiting by date, language, type of article, etc.
Requests and Recalls
If a book you're looking for is at Oxford College, at the Library Service Center, or checked out, don't fear!
Books that are at the Library Service Center or at Oxford can be requested, and checked out books can be recalled.
In Library Search:
- Click the item you'd like to request
- Click the "Locate/Request" button
- Click the "Request Physical Item" link [Note: you will need to be logged in to your account for this to appear]
You'll be notified by email when the item is available.
NOTE: if the item is checked out, the borrower has ten days to return it.
Search Libraries Worldwide
A catalog for libraries worldwide, WorldCat contains citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, and videotapes.
Book Reviews
Contemporary Sociology: A Journal of Reviews has recent and detailed book reviews.
The London School of Economics (LSE) has an important website where they review new Sociology releases.
The New Books Network has podcasts on new books in Sociology.
Call Number Guide
| Level | Call Numbers |
| 10 | ROSE |
| 9 | Closed |
| 8 | A-DC |
| 7 | DD-HD2499 |
| 6 | HD2500-JK, N-NX |
| 5 | JL-LT, P-PR999 |
| 4 | PR1000-Z |
| Lobby Level 4 (MUSIC AND MEDIA) | M-MZ |
About Rose Library
Emory University's Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (Rose Library) holds over 200,000 printed volumes, over 1,200 manuscript collections, photographs, motion picture film, audio recordings, and other visual media. Its renowned collections span more than 800 years of history—with a special focus on modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South.
Everyone is welcome to use Rose Library collections: students, scholars, visiting researchers, and the general public.
For hours, services, and guides to the collection please see the Rose Library page