Research Guides: Sociology Research Guide: Find Articles, Newspapers, & Films

Finding Articles - Sociology

The two most important databases for sociology are Sociological Abstracts and SOCINDEX with Full Text.

Sociological Abstracts
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1952-present.
SocINDEX with Full Text

Indexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.

Use these databases to find articles and other sources across disciplines.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches primarily scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports across disciplines. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box.
Web of Science
A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.These curated collections provide citations from "name brand" scholarly journals.
Scopus (SciVerse Scopus)
Find multidisciplinary scholarly sources from a curated list of sources, including journals, books, conference papers, and preprints.

It contains over 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus has 46 million records dating back to 1823, 72% of these containing references dating from 1996.

Annual Review of Sociology
The Annual Review of Sociology publishes literature reviews on significant developments in the field of sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields.
American Sociological Review
The American Sociological Association publishes the American Sociological Review, the top ranked journal in sociology by impact factor.

To search through a broad list of newspapers, good bets are Newsbank Access World News and ProQuest News and Newspapers.

NewsBank Access World News
Coverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.

All titles are the full electronic version of record.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
An extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.