From Napoleon’s defeat at Waterloo to the Russian Revolution to Nelson Mandela’s release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers. Users can study the progression of issues over time by browsing issues of The Guardian and its sister paper, The Observer, which offer coverage of 1821-2003 and 1791-2003, respectively, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.
Compilation of Spanish-language newspapers - some published in both Spanish and English - printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Can be searched simultaneously with other historical newspapers via the America's Historical Newspapers database.
Some of the major publications included are La Protesta, La Vanguardia and Acción Obrera (Argentina) ; O Exempio. Jornal do Povo and Battaglia (Brazil); the Chilean Voz del Mar (Chile); and Ariete, Redención Obrera, Revolución Social, El Sindical (Mexico).
Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the notable newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue. Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need.
Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need. Additional years of coverage will be added annually.
Full page and article images of the Times (London) with searchable full text, including searchable advertisements and photographs, back to the first issue.
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This archive does not include the Sunday Times, a newspaper independent of the Times. Coverage: 1785-1985. (Use Nexis Uni for Times issues July 1, 1985 to present)
The Times of India was founded in 1838 to serve the British residents of West India. It is now the highest circulating English language newspaper in the world, and it now serves to represent the citizens of India.