NYU Law Library Research Guide: European Union Research
NYU GlobaLex Research Guide: Understanding European Union Legal Materials
Georgetown Law Library Research Guide: European Union
Columbia Law Library Research Guide: European Union Legal Materials
Law Library of Congress: A Guide to Researching EU Law
University of Michigan Law Library: European Union Research Guide
European Union Law, Including Brexit and Beyond, in a Nutshell by
This Nutshell covers the history and growth of the European Union including BREXIT and Beyond. The EU's legislative procedures, litigating EU law and the jurisprudence of the European Court of Justice are reviewed. Free movement of goods, services, people (including mass migration), capital and technology, the EURO in crisis, and extensive internal Union policies are detailed. This Nutshell also examines EU international trade, foreign investment and business competition (antitrust) law.
Principles of the European Union Beyond Brexit by
This advanced, detailed guide provides a comprehensive review of laws and policies of the European Union, including BREXIT and Beyond. Chapter 1 examines the history and growth of the European Union. Chapters 2 and 3 focus on critical EU processes behind lawmaking and litigation. Chapter 4 examines the free movement of goods, services, capital, and people (including mass migration). Chapter 5 covers a broad selection of internal EU business law regimes ranging from taxation to agriculture. The EU's complex external trade, foreign investment and customs law is analyzed in Chapter 6. Antitrust law and regulation of business agreements are covered in Chapter 7. The Treaty on European Union, the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, the EU Charter of Fundamental Freedoms, and a summary of the EU-UK 2021 Trade and Cooperation Agreement post BREXIT are reproduced in Appendices.
Advanced Introduction to European Union Law by
This is an introduction to understanding the law of the European Union's institutions and policies, covering the internal market, free movement of citizens, the economic and monetary union, and foreign and security policies.
Research Handbook on EU Institutional Law by
Research Handbook on EU Institutional Law offers a critical look into the European Union: its legal foundations, competences and institutions. It provides an analysis of the EU legal system, its application at the national level and the prevalent role of the Court of Justice. Throughout the course of the Handbook the expert contributors discuss whether the European Union is well equipped for the 21st century and the numerous crises it has to handle.
Research Handbook on the European Union and International Organizations by
'This innovative collection of essays offers a uniquely comprehensive exploration of the way in which the EU engages with other international organizations and bodies. While both EU law and international law perspectives are examined, this book goes beyond mere legal analysis to address political and practical issues the EU encounters on the internal and the external fronts. It forms a major contribution to the literature on the relationship between the EU legal order and public international law and on the EU's role in international relations more generally.' - Containing chapters by leading scholars, this Research Handbook presents a comprehensive and critical assessment of these relationships, examining both the EU's representation and cooperation as well as the influence of these external bodies on the development of EU law and policy.
Crisis and Renewal by
This clear text provides a comprehensive introduction to the EU's history, institutions, and policies in the context of the ongoing crises the Union faces. Explaining the different theoretical perspectives used to understand the EU, the book gives students the tools they need to assess whether the Union is on a path to renewal.
The Routledge Handbook of Differentiation in the European Union by
The Routledge Handbook of Differentiation in the European Union offers a collection of chapters reflecting on the causes and consequences of this complex phenomenon. With contributions from key experts in this subfield of European Studies, it will become a key volume used for those interested in learning the nuts and bolts of differentiation as a mechanism of (dis)integration in the European Union, especially in the light of Brexit.
Although the MacMillan Law Library does not purchase all assigned textbooks, these titles are available at Emory, some of them older editions than the texts on the recommended reading list for the class.
EU Law: Text, Cases, and Materials by
The fifth edition of Craig and de Burca EU Law: Text, Cases, and Materials provides clear and insightful analysis of all aspects of European Law in the post Lisbon era. This edition looks in detail at the way in which the Treaty of Lisbon has radically changed both the institutional and substantive law of the European Union.Paul Craig and Grainne de Burca are noted scholars on European Law who have a wealth of experience of both teaching and writing in this subject area. .Many of the chapters have been substantially or wholly rewritten, including those on key areas such as Institutions, Legal Instruments and the Hierarchy of Norms, Competences, and Legislation and Decision-Making. There is in addition a new chapter on EU Criminal Law.
European Union Law by
Fully revised and updated, the third edition of EU Law provides an exhaustive, yet easily readable, account of the complex and ever changing subject of EU law. The author gives thorough, authoritative treatment to the institutional, constitutional and substantive elements of EU Law. The book combines depth of coverage with an excellent selection of supporting case law, making this challenging subject accessible and easy to follow. Case summaries and judgments are highlighted in colour-tinted boxes for ease of reference, and are accompanied by key facts and analysis, often in the light of subsequent developments. It also provides comprehensive coverage of substantive and procedural EU competition law and thus has its place as a textbook for introductory courses on EU competition law.
Law and Values in the European Union by
How has European Union developed since its origins in the reconstruction of Europe in the wake of the Second World War, and why has it developed in this fashion? The principal theme of this book maintains that the EU is a site for the management of the interdependence of the States that are its members. A whole host of challenges - from climate change to security to migration to economic reform - can be tackled more effectively through multilateral action than by unilateral State action and the EU has become the principal location for that action in common. Recommended for understanding the rationale for, and the mechanics of EU actions.
The Evolution of EU Law by
In-depth analysis of specific areas of EU constitutional and substantive law. In the first edition of this influential textbook, a team of leading lawyers and political scientists reflected upon the important developments in their chosen area over the time since the EC was formed. This new edition continues this analysis ten years on. Taking into account the social and political background, and without losing sight of the changes that came before, in each chapter the contributors analyze the principal themes and assess the legal and political forces that have shaped its development. Each author addresses a specific topic, event, or theme, from the European Court of Justice to Treaty reform; the enlargement of the EU to administrative law; the effect of EU law on culture to climate change. T
EU Law and Integration by
This book contains a collection of articles on different aspects of EU law written by one of Europe's most distinguished jurists during the past twenty years, some of which appear here for the first time in English. The book is divided into five parts, covering EU constitutional law, the EU's judicial architecture, access to justice, European competition law and various other aspects of substantive EU law. In the field of EU constitutional law, the central text discusses the existence of implied material limits to the revision of the Treaties. Four articles relating to the EU's judicial system constitute the cornerstone of the collection. Drawing on his own experiences, the author examines the problems and challenges facing the setting up of a new EU court and explores different lines of reform of the EU judicial system.
The Constitution of Europe by
Joseph Weiler presents essays written during the 1990s on issues related to European constitutional law. In a series of discussions concerning the legal framework of the European Communities and the European Union, Professor Weiler describes the gradual strengthening of transnational European institutions at the expense of national legislators. Although individuals as legal consumers have been empowered by Community law, he writes, this has been at the expense of their rights as citizens. The Constitution of Europe thus provides from a legal perspective a balanced and authoritative critique of the attractions and demerits of the goal of European integration.
For more detailed resources on European Union law, search in Emory Libraries Search. Try combining a subject search for Law - European Union countries and the subject area of your research (Competition law, Environmental law). Treatises on European Union law can be found on the 4th floor in the range of KJC - KJE. Other materials on European Union policy can be found on the 3rd floor at HC241.
Smit & Herzog on the law of the European Union by
LexisNexis is introducing the first two volumes of this new and unique English-language commentary on the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty Establishing the European Community.Hans Smit and Peter Herzog analyse each article of the two treaties, its evolution, major case law and subordinate legislation. These provisions are the basis of the European Union's internal and external trade, economic regulation and social integration and extensively shape the domestic laws of all its Member States
Citizenship in the European Union by
Exploring the notion that norms are often seen as static structures governing society, politics and legislation, this thought-provoking book offers insights into Robert Alexy's theory of constitutional rights and the range in rigidity of two norm categories: rules and principles. Arguing that constitutional pluralism and the differentiation between norms is also present in EU law, Anne Wesemann asserts that EU Citizenship is a principle and thus a constitutional rights norm. Providing new perspectives on constitutionalism in the EU, this book considers the way the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) discusses and applies the EU citizenship Treaty norms by analysing the court's approach to decision making, which mirrors the balancing and weighing of conflicting principles. Wesemann proposes a new approach to constitutional analysis of the EU and its legal framework, arguing that the existence of constitutional rights norms in EU law enables this particular legal order to respond effectively to societal and political challenges within the rigidity of constitutionalism.
International Law and the European Union by
The European Union plays a significant role in international affairs. International Law and the European Union examines the impact this has had on public international law by integrating perspectives from both EU law and international law. Its analysis focuses on fields of public international law where the EU has had an influence, including customary international law, the law of treaties, international organizations, international dispute settlement, and international responsibility. International Law and the European Union shows how the EU has had a subtle but significant impact on the development of international law and how the international legal order has developed and adjusted to accommodate the EU as a distinct legal actor. In doing so, it contributes to our understanding of how international law addresses legal subjects other than States.
The European Union and Human Rights by
With the adoption of the Lisbon Treaty, the profile of human rights issues has greatly risen in relation to EU policies, whether internal or external. The EU has thereby made the commitment to ensure that all its actions are compliant with human rights, and seek to promote them. Yet, the EU's commitment has come under scrutiny, not only for its ground-breaking character, but also because recent events have put it to the test.This volume has been designed to take stock of these developments, to comprehensively discuss the conceptualization and operationalization of the EU's commitment to human rights throughout the EU's relationships, policies, actions and legislative activity, and to critically assess its outcome. This title is divided into four parts: 'Framework' presents the issues related to human rights promotion by the EU; 'Actors' delves into the relationships that play a part, at home or abroad, in regards to human rights policies and judgements; 'Policies' takes a case-study approach and systematically reviews a range of EU internal and external policies to assess their human rights impact and implementation; and finally, 'Strategies' provides an integrated assessment of the design and implementation of the EU's commitment to human rights.
A European Social Union after the Crisis by
Today, many people agree that the EU lacks solidarity and needs a social dimension. This debate is not new, but until now the notion of a 'social Europe' remained vague and elusive. To make progress, we need a coherent conception of the reasons behind, and the agenda for, not a 'social Europe', but a new idea: a European Social Union. We must motivate, define, and demarcate an appropriate notion of European solidarity. We must also understand the legal and political obstacles, and how these can be tacked. In short, we need unequivocal answers to questions of why, what, and how: on that basis, we can define a clear-cut normative and institutional concept. That is the remit of this book: it provides an in-depth interdisciplinary examination of the rationale and the feasibility of a European Social Union.
The Substantive Law of the EU by
The leading textbook on the four freedoms, popular with students and academics alike, this authoritative text offers a unique balance of comprehensive, detailed coverage in a concise and readable style, providing a critical and thorough analysis of the key principles of the substantive law of the EU. An introductory chapter provides valuable context on the governance of the internal market, its evolution, and the theories behind its key principles. Each of the freedoms is then dealt with in turn, covering goods, persons, services, and capital, before moving on to discuss harmonization, the regulation of the internal market, and its future.
Search for law review articles in Hein Online's Law Journal Library and Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, and on Lexis and Westlaw. Search for interdisciplinary articles in JSTOR.
These journals are primarily on European Union law:
EU and Comparative Law Issues and Challenges
Maastricht Journal of European and Comparative Law
European Journal of Legal Studies
Review of European Administrative Law
European Competition Law Review
European Energy & Climate Journal
European Journal of Migration and Law
Europa: European Union Newsroom: Highlights, press releases, official statements.
European Law Blog: News and comments on European Union law, including cases from the Court of Justice.
EU Law Analysis Blog: In-depth comments on current developments in EU law.
EU Focus: European law newsletter on Westlaw.
Politico.eu: News and analysis on Europe, with a page for news on the European Commission.
New York Times: European Union stories
Just Security: European Union: Stories on the EU from an online forum on national security and foreign policy
Find topical European Union news on the websites of EU Directorates-General and agencies, including latest news, plans, and reports
Brexit Britain by
In June 2016, more than 17 million people voted for Britain to leave the European Union. The fallout of this momentous referendum has been tumultuous and unpredictable. Now, from the authors of the highly-acclaimed Brexit: Why Britain Voted to Leave the European Union (Cambridge University Press, 2017), comes the definitive guide to the transformation of British politics in the years following the Brexit vote. By charting the impact of Brexit on three major elections - the 2017 and 2019 general elections as well as the 2019 European Parliament elections - this book reveals the deeper currents reshaping modern Britain. The authors draw upon many years of unique and unprecedented data from their own surveys, giving key insights into how and why Brexit has changed British electoral politics.
UK Parliament: Brexit Research and Analysis: Publications from the Commons and Lords Libraries relating to Brexit, plus news on exiting the EU
The Guardian: Brexit news
BBC News: Brexit news
Politico: Brexit news and analysis.
CRS Report R46730: Brexit: Overview, Trade, and Northern Ireland