Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Course Guide to SOC 389: Contemporary Chinese Society and Culture

This Course Guide is created to provide library resources for the students who take the class of Contemporary Chinese Society and Culture. Students can visit this Guide to get library books, journal articles, database materials and writing tools

Online Databases Useful to Your Class

Emory Libraries subscribe many databases in various subject areas.  They cover high-quality information and serve as one of the best academic resources to your research projects and papers.  Below are some of them in English related to your class:

New database useful to your class:

New

provides access to the news from more than 1,600 newspapers, magazines, trade journals, web portals, and news agencies published in the Mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Macau. News clippings with full-text search capabilities. Hong Kong newspapers cover 1998 onwards. China, Taiwan and Macau's newspapers cover from 2000.

Existing Databases related to your class topics:

1.  Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

2.  Bibliography of Asian Studies

The Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.

The online version contains references to books (through 1992), journals, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.

3.  JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

4.  ProQuest Databases

Contains the following databases: ABI/Inform Global, Business Dateline, Dissertation Abstracts, National Newspapers, and Research Library. These databases can be searched individually or simultaneously.

5.  Social Sciences Abstracts

A bibliographic database that indexes journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.

6.  Sociological Collection

The Sociological Collection is a database with more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

For those of you who can read Chinese, our library also subscribe some major Chinese online databases with academic resources:

1. China Academic Journals This link opens in a new window

Access articles from Chinese academic journals, including publications from the PRC.

2.  China Core Newspaper Database This link opens in a new window

Contains abstracts and articles from major Chinese newspapers on the subjects of literature, history, arts and philosophy.

3.  Dissertations of China in Humanities and Social Sciences This link opens in a new window

Dissertations Access dissertations and theses from Chinese research institutions since 1980.of China is the most comprehensive collections of dissertations and theses from Chinese research institutions since 1980. As of Feb. 2014, it contains over 2088 million full-text or abstract records, in which nearly 750,000 full-text records are in the subject areas of humanities and social science.