Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

HathiTrust

Search HathiTrust


How do I Access HathiTrust materials? Note that currently, all avaialble book records are available via HT. When the library reopens and the HT ETAS (HathiTrust Emergency Service) ends and access to the Stacks resumes, temporary access records will be removed, but public domain materials will remain in discoverE.

  • Step by Step Instructions
    • Search for a book by title and author, or by full text
    • Authenticate with Emory username and password
    • ​​On top right of page, LOGIN by selecting "Emory University" from drop-down menu

There are four broad categories for searching the holdings of the HathiTrust:

  • Catalog Search - to search bibliographic fields such as Author, Title, ISBN, date of publication. You can also select the Advance Search option to search various combinations of bibliographic fields.
  • Full-Text Search - to search for keywords in all items in the HathiTrust
  • Collection Search - select a collection and then you have the option of searching for items only in that collection. 
  • Single-Volume Search - When view a selected in PageTurner, use keywords to search inside of that volume.

 

Viewing and Downloading items


There are two broad categories for materials in HathiTrust which determine what can be viewed
 

  • Full-view - titles where the entire content can either be viewed or downloaded. These are titles that are either:  1) in the public domain;  2)  a work licensed by a Creative Commons agreement; or, 3) a work where the HathiTrust has secured permission from the rights holder for full access.
  • Limited (search only) - titles where the HathiTrust can only display bibliographic information and the results for the search for a given keyword or phrase. 

Downloading and Viewing

  • To download collections to which we have full text access, you must be logged in. You may download a PDF of a single page, or the entire text.
  • The online viewer allows for multiple means of reading, including flip page scans to recreate "flipping" through the text

For more detailed information on accessing content in HathiTrust, please see here.