Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

CHN271W: Modern China in Film and Fiction

Finding Articles from Journals

Class Related Journals

 

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.  All the current printed persiodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room.  The Library also subscribes to quite a lot E-Journals, simply click the E-Journals site above or at the Library's website, you can read the journals on your computer.  Here are several E-journals related to your class:

 

1. Journal of Current Chinese Affairs

 

2. China Media Research

 

3. Journal of Chinese Philosophy

 

4. Journal of Chinese Political Science

 

5. Chinese Studies in History

 

6. Journal of Contemporary China

 

7. Modern China

 

8. Washington Journal of Modern China

 

9. Fiction International

10. Modern Fiction Studies

11. Films in Review

12.  中国电影市场

13. 电影文学

14. 人民文学

15. 当代

16. 当代电影

17. 大众电影

18. 戏剧与影视评论

Finding Articles from Online Databases

Class Related Databases

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databses, some of them cover the atricles in the subject area of your class, they are: 

China Academical Journals = 中国学术期刊库

Includes articles from almost all Chinese academic journals covering almost all subject areas in the humanities.

China Core Newspaper Database = 中国核心报纸库

It contains newspapers articles on the subjects of literature, films, arts, etc.

FIAF International Film Archive Database

FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text including complete runs.

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Proquest

This full text journal article database contains Contains the following databases: ABI/Inform Global, Business Dateline, Dissertation Abstracts, National Newspapers, and Research Library. These databases can be searched individually or simultaneously.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Film Literature Index

The Film Literature Index (FLI) Online indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. Coverage after 2001 is available in the print version of the Film Literature Index.

 

Humanities International complete

Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.

 

Wisers = 智库

provides access to the news from more than 1,600 newspapers, magazines, trade journals, web portals, and news agencies published in the Mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Macau. News clippings with full-text search capabilities. Hong Kong newspapers cover 1998 onwards. China, Taiwan and Macau's newspapers cover from 2000.

World News Connnection

A Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and Englsih-language news and information.  Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions.  China is certainly included there.

Other Resources to Use

Here are some other resources that you can try:

Google Scholar

You can also use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.  However unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text.  Therefore, please check ejournals@Emory, discoverE or Worldcat before paying for full text, our library may already have the source you need. 

Chinese Films from Internet

This website provides introduction of Chinese films, you can also watch the film online as well.  There is English subtitle for the films.

Emory DVD-LEND Program

At our Music and Media Library, you can check out some recent and popular movies to watch at home (or Dorm).

Circulation Policies

 

  • Eligible Emory borrowers may check out up to 3 DVD-LEND items for 3 days.
  • One online renewal is allowed, as long as the item has not been requested by another user (such as for a classroom booking.) To renew DVD-LENDs and other eligible library materials, log in to discoverE with your Emory ID and password.
  • For more about general video circulation policies in the Music and Media Library, see here.
  • Some individual titles may be temporarily unavailable through the DVD-LEND program to meet course reserves needs.