Skip to Main Content
Emory University Emory Libraries

CHN 230: Description and Analysis of the Chinese Language

This is a survey course introducing you to the linguistic features of the Chinese language and its interaction with Chinese culture and society. It investigates the fundamentals of Chinese phonology, morphology, syntax and the writing system.

ARTICLES FROM DATABASES

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databses, some of them cover the journal atricles in the subject area of Chinese Studies, they are: 

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Humanities International complete

 

Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.

 

Linguistics and Language Behavior

 

It indexes journals, books, technical reports and dissertation covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.  It has complete coverage of various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and georgraphical linguistics.

 

China academic journals

 

It provides access to full text articles from Chinese academic journals.  This database covers the majority of academic journals published in the PRC, and is produced at the Tsinghua University in Beijing.

 

China core newspapers database