Research Guides: How do I find newspapers? Topic Guide: Historic

Databases

Below is a list of U.S. newspaper databases. Available papers range from the 17th to the 20th century. There is some overlap with these databases and sources listed under Recent Newspapers.

Its goal it to allow researchers working with newspapers a place to begin. For more in-depth questions about how to find a specific paper or for search tips, contact, Erica Bruchko.

Chronicling America

Chronicling America - National Digital Newspaper Program (1789-1924)
Free Web access with more content added frequently, plus a searchable directory of U.S. papers published from 1690 to present.
Warning! Individual newspaper titles in Chronicling America are not indexed in the library catalog or findable in e-journals. Open resource.

America's Historical Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers also has several other 20th-century, southern newspapers:

Emory log-in required.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (1800s)
Emory log-in required.

Proquest Newspapers

Proquest Newspapers (1851-present)
Past coverage of major US and African American newspapers.
Emory log-in required.

Newspapers.com

Newspapers.com (1700s-2000s)
Database of local and regional historical newspapers from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom and Ireland, Australia and other select countries.
Warning! Individual newspaper titles in newspapers.com are not indexed in the catalog or findable in e-journals.
Emory log-in required.

NewspaperArchive

NewspaperArchive.com (1600s-1900s)
Database of local historical newspapers from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom.
Warning! Individual newspaper titles in NewspaperArchive are not indexed in the catalog or findable in e-journals.
Emory log-in required.

Digital Library of Georgia

Digitial Library of Georgia (coverage dates vary)
Free Web access to a growing collection of historical Georgia newspapers, including: papers from Atlanta, Macon, Milledgeville, and Columbus; the Cherokee Phoenix; the Southern Israelite; and more.
Warning! Individual newspaper titles in the DLG are not indexed in the catalog or findable in e-journals.
Open resource.

Reveal Digital

American Prison Newspapers (1800-2020)
Collection of newspapers created by or for incarcerated individuals.
Open Resource
Independent Voices (1950-present)
Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals from the second half of the 20th century.
Open resource.

Ethnic Newswatch

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960-present)
U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish.
Emory log-in required.

Accessible Archives

African American Newspapers/Accessible Archives (1800s)
Emory log-in required.